We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveller rating
231
249
182
115
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
249
182
115
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murder mystery cadbury world wedding venue hagley road city centre lounge area public areas broad street stayed for one night tolkien edgbaston
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 874 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Very nice old front facade and in a good position to visit the city of Birmingham. Only about 15 minutes walk to the redeveloped canal area of Birmingham. Hotel was enjoyable , rooms were very clean, quite spacious and well fitted out. Even though we were on a main road the room was very quiet. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Recommended.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms towards the rear of the property
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmyth1, Owner at Best Western Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Don and Clair chose the Plough & Harrow as our wedding venue, what a fantastic choice that we made, as you walked through the main entrance doors you felt really at home with the surroundings which were spotlessly clean, comfortable. From assisting with the arrangements leading to our special day all the staff right across the board were friendly and helpful,nothing was to much trouble they made the day that extra bit special.
Our guests whom arrived the day before and stopped at the hotel said their bedrooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast choices were more than sufficient and delicious.
The food that was prepared and served throughout our special day was absolutely delicious and no one had any criticism whatsoever, and that is a testament to how the hotel looks after its guests.
To those people who have moaned and given the hotel bad reviews I think you need to find something better to do in life.
Paul and all the team thank you so much for giving us a day to remember for the rest of our lives and for looking after us and our guests over the two days.
Don & Clair

Room Tip: Open minded
Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank clair r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmyth1, Owner at Best Western Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and I am very pleased you had a great time. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Once we finally managed to get parked this hotel did not dissapoint.

Exterior and reception well maintained. An old fashioned homely hotel.
Receptionist very helpful and cheerful.

Rooms were huge we had booked 2 doubles and a twin. Windows that opened nice to let air in (instead of freezing air con).

Wi-fi constantly worked.Teens happy!!

Garden area with patio~lovely to sit outside with a drink.

Breakfast nice but unfortunately by time we go to the dinning room a lot of breakfast items had run out!

All in a very pleasent stay.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmyth1, Owner at Best Western Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had our wedding reception here,
We were promised the room from 10.30 but was not able to get in to decorate until 11.30.
Rude staff!! nobody greeted us or stuck to the plan for the day, terrible food we recived dry chicken, freezer burnt ice cream and curdled cheesecake to name a few things, my husband almost choked on a large piece of plastic in his food. our cake was ruined by staff and then they blamed the cake being ruined on our cake maker. our honeymoon suite was dirty, dead flies all over the window cills, old kettle water left in the kettle, unclean floors with bits all over the carpets. The management will not take any responsibility for their actions at all, after waiting 2 weeks for a formal meeting Paul the manager has passed blame on to us saying that we are making problems more serious than they need to be as ‘emotions run high on a wedding day’’
There’s no customer service at all, instead of trying to right their wrongs they have accused me and my husband of trying to extort money out of them!!!!!
Please stay away from this hotel, never have a wedding here.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmyth1, Owner at Best Western Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for writing although we do not agree with your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel very clean. Was like stepping back in time every thing was very dated and old in the rooms. The main house was beautifully. Breakfast was amazing.
Staff were very helpful and polite.
Nice hotel

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmyth1, Owner at Best Western Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thankyou very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews