We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good hotel, comfy and well located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #31 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A very good hotel, comfy and well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was my third visit to the crowne plaza. My first visit was back before they had the refurb and even then it was a lovely hotel. Now they seem to have fully refurbed the whole hotel, and wow it not only has changed loads but it looks amazing!

On our last visit we booked a club room and got a very good rate for it. The room was a good size, nice bathroom, nice comfy bed, bit of a rubbish view (at the back of the hotel) but that didnt bother us too much. However I dont think I would have been too pleased if I'd have paid the normal rate which was over £200 a night, mainly just because of a few little niggles, 'wobbley' fittings in the bathroom, and the fact the main doors to the bedrooms dont seem to have anything on them to stop them banging when people are coming and going and it is very very loud!
We had some noisey guests next door, there seemed to be about 10 people in one room which sounded like they were moving furniture around! It wasnt that late but went on for well over an hour and when you've come away to chill out it is a bit annoying. My partner decided to go down to reception and let them know about it. One of the receptionists went up to the room straight away with a securit guard and the situation was sorted out with no problem at all. Although as I expected, when the guests arrived back at 4am from their night out their front door banging shut woke me up.

We had some drinks in the bar when we returned from dinner and I had a couple of cosmopolitans, which although werent cheap was a decent sized drink and was one of the best cocktails i've ever had. Breakfast the next morning was also good although they had no pastries when we were there.

I would definitely return for my 4th visit, the location is faultless, easy access from the main road and to the car park, but make sure you get a good deal on the room rate!

Room Tip: If it bothers you, get a room on the front of the hotel if you can. The view at the back isn't u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A9881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    837
    323
    94
    54
See reviews for
222
601
82
675
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Devon Westcountry England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Excellent hotel, enjoyed the club room, and the club room benefits including the free wifi for my laptop, and in the evening free and very generous drinks and canapes. Stayed over the weekend, and the Club lounge was very busy on the Saturday night, so you need to go there early to get a seat, otherwise standing room only!
Staff were always friendly and efficient, happy to help with any difficulties.
I liked the location of the hotel, and nearby to other restaurants in Brindley place and walking to the main shopping center and the Bullring.
Sat Nav Top tip, if using your Sat Nav to find hotel by car, do not put the hotel post code, use the name of the road instead, our Sat Nav in a brand new car could not locate by post code, but easily found when using the road name only!

Room Tip: Sat Nav tip - enter name of road, not postcode
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
179 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Really, I can't praise this hotel enough. As a business hotel in the City Centre, this has to be the most consistent.

Great staff, really jolly and they try hard to please.

Fine rooms, large and COOL in the summer.

Get upgraded to 'Executive' and it's even better.


This is my favourite business hotel in Birmingham...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disgusted17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Well located in the city centre. Nice entrance lobby, very helpful staff. Executive room very well priced we paid £107 this includes larger room, great facilities in room tea, coffee, biscuits, water, fridge, they also include tumblers and wine glasses for your use. aircon, chaise lounge, desk and chair, flatscreen tv, hairdryer, good bathroom nice toiletries.

Pillow menu !!! you get to choose between 1 and 4 pillows per person with a choice of about 4 types of pillow, large comfortable bed.

On demand movies just £5.20 only complaint aircon was noisy.

The Executive lounge is small but well furnished, has books, newspapers, tv, computers with internet and printer free to use. 2 hrs in evening for free drinks choice of spirits, wines, beer, soft drinks. and canapes very nice. All day every day you can go in and help yourself to free coffee and soft drinks.

Complimentary breakfast in executive lounge was choice of cold meats, cheeses,boiled eggs, breads and pastries. cereal, fruit, smoothie, juices, coffee unlimited and served until 10am

Room Tip: ask for 11th floor for quiet room, ask for right side of corridor for the better views, we were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elmertheelephant_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Great bed, Great experience in the Club Lounge. Ample breakfast even though the hotel was hosting a really big event. Check in and out swift and easy. Nice toiletries. Only complaints are that the room is a wee bit dark and that it is a LITTLE further outside of the town centre and you may get your hair wet if you were to walk in the rain ;).

Room Tip: Pay for the club room. It's so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teaearlgreyhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing