We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel, comfy and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #30 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was my third visit to the crowne plaza. My first visit was back before they had the refurb and even then it was a lovely hotel. Now they seem to have fully refurbed the whole hotel, and wow it not only has changed loads but it looks amazing!

On our last visit we booked a club room and got a very good rate for it. The room was a good size, nice bathroom, nice comfy bed, bit of a rubbish view (at the back of the hotel) but that didnt bother us too much. However I dont think I would have been too pleased if I'd have paid the normal rate which was over £200 a night, mainly just because of a few little niggles, 'wobbley' fittings in the bathroom, and the fact the main doors to the bedrooms dont seem to have anything on them to stop them banging when people are coming and going and it is very very loud!
We had some noisey guests next door, there seemed to be about 10 people in one room which sounded like they were moving furniture around! It wasnt that late but went on for well over an hour and when you've come away to chill out it is a bit annoying. My partner decided to go down to reception and let them know about it. One of the receptionists went up to the room straight away with a securit guard and the situation was sorted out with no problem at all. Although as I expected, when the guests arrived back at 4am from their night out their front door banging shut woke me up.

We had some drinks in the bar when we returned from dinner and I had a couple of cosmopolitans, which although werent cheap was a decent sized drink and was one of the best cocktails i've ever had. Breakfast the next morning was also good although they had no pastries when we were there.

I would definitely return for my 4th visit, the location is faultless, easy access from the main road and to the car park, but make sure you get a good deal on the room rate!

Room Tip: If it bothers you, get a room on the front of the hotel if you can. The view at the back isn't u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A9881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,761 - 1,765 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Excellent hotel, enjoyed the club room, and the club room benefits including the free wifi for my laptop, and in the evening free and very generous drinks and canapes. Stayed over the weekend, and the Club lounge was very busy on the Saturday night, so you need to go there early to get a seat, otherwise standing room only!
Staff were always friendly and efficient, happy to help with any difficulties.
I liked the location of the hotel, and nearby to other restaurants in Brindley place and walking to the main shopping center and the Bullring.
Sat Nav Top tip, if using your Sat Nav to find hotel by car, do not put the hotel post code, use the name of the road instead, our Sat Nav in a brand new car could not locate by post code, but easily found when using the road name only!

Room Tip: Sat Nav tip - enter name of road, not postcode
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Really, I can't praise this hotel enough. As a business hotel in the City Centre, this has to be the most consistent.

Great staff, really jolly and they try hard to please.

Fine rooms, large and COOL in the summer.

Get upgraded to 'Executive' and it's even better.


This is my favourite business hotel in Birmingham...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Disgusted17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Well located in the city centre. Nice entrance lobby, very helpful staff. Executive room very well priced we paid £107 this includes larger room, great facilities in room tea, coffee, biscuits, water, fridge, they also include tumblers and wine glasses for your use. aircon, chaise lounge, desk and chair, flatscreen tv, hairdryer, good bathroom nice toiletries.

Pillow menu !!! you get to choose between 1 and 4 pillows per person with a choice of about 4 types of pillow, large comfortable bed.

On demand movies just £5.20 only complaint aircon was noisy.

The Executive lounge is small but well furnished, has books, newspapers, tv, computers with internet and printer free to use. 2 hrs in evening for free drinks choice of spirits, wines, beer, soft drinks. and canapes very nice. All day every day you can go in and help yourself to free coffee and soft drinks.

Complimentary breakfast in executive lounge was choice of cold meats, cheeses,boiled eggs, breads and pastries. cereal, fruit, smoothie, juices, coffee unlimited and served until 10am

Room Tip: ask for 11th floor for quiet room, ask for right side of corridor for the better views, we were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmertheelephant_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Great bed, Great experience in the Club Lounge. Ample breakfast even though the hotel was hosting a really big event. Check in and out swift and easy. Nice toiletries. Only complaints are that the room is a wee bit dark and that it is a LITTLE further outside of the town centre and you may get your hair wet if you were to walk in the rain ;).

Room Tip: Pay for the club room. It's so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teaearlgreyhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,301 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,327 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
966 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
189 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: €66 - €161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing