We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“contractors on work visit sd” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cobden Hotel Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cobden Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #101 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“contractors on work visit sd”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

what a dump only plus side is the leisure facilitys breakfast awful found eggshel in my breakfast and all food is of a really poor standard only a shaving light in the bathroom and bedding wasnt changed for a full week despite accidently spilling coffie on my sheets on the first nite my dresing table has no drawer fronts on and the rooms are full of damp and peeling wall paper!!! dont be fooled by the posh entrance and bar area stay away from this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    157
    212
    191
    272
See reviews for
164
228
69
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Conwy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I Am staying across the road after having an operation, my family live far away so wanted to stay over to visit me. Unfortunately my hotel was full do we booked them into this hotel! What a mistake! The look on the net with facilities look good but from the start the hotel is dirty and run down. The bar full of beer swigging young men. As you can see from my pictures smashed mirrors in lift.
All the walls and paintwork is scratched and dirty, that's all before you get to the room.
Once in the room smelt like a old people's home and the bathroom was so bad my sister came over to my hotel to wash in the morning!
When they went for breakfast before 9 there was nothing left apart from some water where the eggs used to be and 3 rashers of bacon, so my sister went to complain before eating or drinking anything and asked for her money back the hotel refused saying no refunds !! Which she found funny £8.50 for no food. She told them to get cooking and eventually they brought food out. Still not worth the money. She then went to use the pool but there was something wrong so could not use it. Luckily it was only one night ! Be warned I would never stay at any of these hotels. Not even for a hen night.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelleFlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I... Checked in last min to this hotel. I have stayd in many hotels previously, never have I experienced rude staff, bad smell everywhere, uncomfortable bed. Also it takes forever to get to the room we got room (206). Its like a maze, actually its worst than a cheap hostel. There is no light in the coridoor. I was freaked out, we left and checked in,premier inn.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vcfffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I checked into this hotel on a busy noisy road in Birmingham and myself and my colleagues were allocated rooms that were dirty, in disrepair and frankly awful.

In my room the furniture had lost most of the veneer cover so was chipboard that shed splinters, the bath panel was hanging off, the tiles were about to fall off the bathroom wall, the once white ceiling was grey and stained, the towels were frayed and worn as were the bedcovers and mattresses - in short awful and unhygenic

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lejessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I didn't like the standard and quality of the room we stayed in. It was old damaged and over priced.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#100 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#104 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobden Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobden Hotel Birmingham

Property: Cobden Hotel Birmingham
Address: 166 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cobden Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cobden Hotel Birmingham, is ideally located for business or leisure set in peaceful grounds less than five minutes from Birmingham City Centre. Easily accessible from both the M5 motorway at Junction 3 & the M6 motorway at Junction 6, the Cobden Hotel Birmingham is only fifteen minutes from the National Exhibition Centre and five minutes from Birmingham New Street Station. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Hotelopia and Booking.com so you can book your Cobden Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing