We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good central location”
Review of Burne Jones House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burne Jones House
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Stayed here with work and very central and surprisingly quiet. Spacious rooms, comfy beds and good shower. Kitchen fully equipped including washing machine and dish washer. Local amenities (shops, restaurants, bars and supermarket on the doorstep

Room Tip: Parking at a discount about 10 mins walk. Need a discount voucher so ask when booking if coming by c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPSHADOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2015 via mobile

I have had my review removed for some reason ! So I'm re posting.

The apartment I was given to stay in was no where near the standard of the one advertised. There was mold around the windows , it was sparsely furnished - no bedside lights etx and I could feel the mattress springs when I sat in the bed. I felt unsafe as the hallway lights in my opinion didn't work properly leaving me in the dark trying to lock the door.


I left and went to another hotel. I had my review removed as apparently I can't review certain things as I didn't stay so I am trying again as I think it is important. I use trip advisor to help me choose hotels so feel I should flag . Other good reviews must be of different apartments than the one I was given .

Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
2  Thank ChesterPinkpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2015

Burne Jones House has all the amenities required at an affordable price. Located in the heart of the Birmingham business district at Colmore and close to New Street and Moor stations, the Bullring and the Pallasades. I loved my stay there. The best thing about it was that the room had all that I needed from WIFI, to a safe deposit box and all gadgets like washing machine, stove, dish washer, kettle, toaster, fridge etc etc. Checking in was as simple as putting in a code and collecting your key. The terrace was great too with a good view of the skyline and Edgaston stadium. A must stay!

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing away from the pubs below. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VinLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
138GeneralManager, General Manager at Burne Jones House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and made use of the outdoor space on the roof terrace!

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

These apartments are very, very basic, done on the cheap, very little in terms of furniture and home comforts. Bed and sofa really uncomfortable. The apartment I was in was dirty and the noise from pubs across the road and next door was horrific. I wouldn't recommend this place, there is better in the area for around the same price.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank anon1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
138GeneralManager, General Manager at Burne Jones House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Hi Amanda,

Thanks for your feedback. It's seems that unfortunately that your mind was set to move out in the end despite your company's attempts and management efforts to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We moved you into an alternative apartment after your initial feedback and I packed your bags and personal items on your behalf whilst you were at work to ensure you could move over without hassle. Wine and complimentary chocolates were personally delivered to your room. Our offer to then upgrade you to our sister building close by at Shaftesbury House was snubbed when you cancelled the viewing at short notice and moved out. Your company assured me we had done all we could to look after you and that you wished to move on regardless.

Kind regards

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed for 1 night in 3 bed apartment. It was lovely! I had reservations but it is perfect. Great location, easy check in to room and very clean apartments! I went because I was seeing Michael Buble. It is walking distance to Mailbox restaurants and The NIA! Would highly recommend! Much better than a premier Inn! Also easy parking arrangements if you contact them.
Rated 4 star as no window in one bedroom and I didn't like it and my mattress wasn't great but I was having a break from my 14 month old so did not stop me from sleeping and laying in! :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LauzKro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
138GeneralManager, General Manager at Burne Jones House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Dear LauzKro,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are currently in the process of upgrading all of our mattresses to Hypnos mattresses which we've been complimented on in our sister property Shaftesbury House since we've they've been changed.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
993 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,032 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burne Jones House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burne Jones House

Address: Burne Jones House 11-12 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Birmingham
Hotel Class:4 star — Burne Jones House 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burne Jones House is located in the commercial and shopping centre of Birmingham, designed for the leisure and business travel sector. Built in the late 19th century and the birthplace of the pre-Raphaelite painter Edward Burne Jones, the Art Deco, six storey building has been sympathetically redeveloped to provide 29 delightfully designed apartments.Many of the original fittings remain such as the marble entrance hall, solid bronze front door, ornate windows and marble flooring on the landings.CityQuarters Birmingham provides a flexible accommodation solution to satisfy your individual needs. From studio apartments to deluxe penthouse suites, CityQuarters provides the answer. All our apartments are upmarket and stylish with an emphasis on interior design, offering a flexible alternative to hotels. Space is the key to living and working in the 21st century; all the apartments have been designed with work and play in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Burne Jones House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing