We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing roof terrace”
Review of Burne Jones House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burne Jones House
Reviewed 21 March 2014

As other reviewers have said, this apartment block is situated in the very centre of Birmingham, just a few minutes from New Street Station. My apartment (3.2) looked just like the photos on the website, though slightly more tired than I had expected.

The booking and check in process was efficient - you just put in your code and pick up your key, then leave it behind when you go. Pretty simple.

The big surprise was the enormous roof terrace, available for guests to use - plenty big enough for a party! plus a smaller enclosed sun lounge. Perfect for the summer.

Room Tip: 3.2 faces the side, so no noise from the pub opposite but some from the bins in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain_Cook_9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
138GeneralManager, General Manager at Burne Jones House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Dear Captain_Cook_9876,

Thank you for your feedback and it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and made the most of our outdoor roof terrace in the good weather.

We are currently in the process of refurbing all of our stock at Burne Jones House with brand new bathrooms, considerable improvements to the kitchens and new mattresses throughout. This is a rolling project but already the feedback has been positive on our premium apartments.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed on the top floor of this house in a 2 bedroom flat and it was great! As others have said - is 5 mins walk from new street station and right in middle of shopping area, and also right next to different cafes and restaurants. The flat itself was very comfortable - fully equipped - we did not find anything that they had not provided. This was the perfect location for our girls get together!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JennieNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I have stopped here many times, depending on how much you pay this is an excellent place to stay, sometimes the studio's are great value, there are no good views to be had if you stay here, although there is a roof top garden which makes up for that, it's in a great central location just off New street, with absolutely everything you need, a home from home really, you would have to be insane to pay the same price to stay in a hotel, when here you get your own kitchen, dining area, sofa, large room, balcony, freesat tv/dvd player ect ect, you don't have to deal with anyone during your stay, so that means no worries of being hit with extra charges or stupid check in/check out procedure which is really convenient, just a simple email/keycode/key in safe process which I really like, I really enjoy staying here and find the LMM staff to be friendly on the phone and helpful. Would always stay again dependent on price, I find some of the other negative reviews below to be a bit unfair based on my experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank person888777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The decor was lovley,modern and fresh,however we found that there were a number of basic things that let the room down. The bed for starters left us feeling achey all over,given that the bed was clearly a pull down,camp style bed this wasnt suprising! Although our room was at the back of the building,there was still a lot if noise-being woken up by the sound of smashing bottles by the guys sorting out the recycling wasnt the best! Perks of the room-room came with a dvd player and tv had a range of channels,iron,hair dryer,and ironing board were all included.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdwings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I stayed overnight on the fifth floor (5.4) of Burne Jones House. The apartments are really well located, five minutes walk from Birmingham New Street Station and are very spacious. The lift was a little noisy, but it wouldn't have ruined my stay. However, I was bitten very badly by bedbugs to the point that my eye was so swollen I couldn't see.

Check the mattress and wipe the seams down with soap before going to bed!

I will not return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
993 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,032 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burne Jones House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burne Jones House

Address: Burne Jones House 11-12 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Birmingham
Hotel Class:4 star — Burne Jones House 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burne Jones House is located in the commercial and shopping centre of Birmingham, designed for the leisure and business travel sector. Built in the late 19th century and the birthplace of the pre-Raphaelite painter Edward Burne Jones, the Art Deco, six storey building has been sympathetically redeveloped to provide 29 delightfully designed apartments.Many of the original fittings remain such as the marble entrance hall, solid bronze front door, ornate windows and marble flooring on the landings.CityQuarters Birmingham provides a flexible accommodation solution to satisfy your individual needs. From studio apartments to deluxe penthouse suites, CityQuarters provides the answer. All our apartments are upmarket and stylish with an emphasis on interior design, offering a flexible alternative to hotels. Space is the key to living and working in the 21st century; all the apartments have been designed with work and play in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Burne Jones House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing