We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I WANT this apartment!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I WANT this apartment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Really lovely stay in one of the mini apartments. Not really that mini either, and it was so lovely it was hard to tear ourselves away - and they were fine with a late check out. Amazing views, very sunny and bright, well equipped kitchen (though the coffee machine blew the fuses everytime we tried to use it). Only other quibble is that the curtains didn't really block out very bright early morning sunlight. But other than that, fantastic. I'd almost visit Birmingham just to stay here!
Oh - and entrance maybe not that clear as it doesn't actually say 'Staying Cool' anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamN78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Hello WilliamN78

Thank you so much for the lovely write up about your stay in one of our Minis (studios). They are my favourite apartment types (sshh!). We've replaced the coffee machine that kept blowing the fuses with a shiny new one and new outdoor (and indoor) signage is being designed as I type.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    158
    40
    10
    15
See reviews for
113
396
44
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Well, it's mostly been already said but I can endorse all the other five star reveiws of Staying Cool. There is everything you need in this uber-cool apartment hotel with its incredible views of Birmingham by day and night. It's located right on top of the Bullring with all the shops and markets and, to cap it off, really well equipped and comfortable. The studios are very neatly designed and laid out; they're not large but are fine for a short break for two. Loved the fresh oranges -- kept in the fridge -- ready for juicing for breakfast. Lots of places nearby to eat/snack/buy croissants to have with your morning coffee, made in the baby Gaggia. Nice toiletries, bathrobes, even a washing machine. Dishwasher, full sized cooker, fridge and microwave in the mini-kitchen. And, as I said, the fabulous view.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paddysmum84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Hello paddysmum84

Thanks very much for the rave review about your stay. Do come back and stay again soon. There will be even more places to eat at nearby with the expansion of the nearby food quarter.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I spent a single evening here for business, but would have liked to have stayed for longer. This was a last minute booking that I made as I had to travel on short notice so I was fortunate that I got hold of a slightly discounted rate on a room 19 floors up dead in the middle of the city centre.

The room itself is very stylish with a 'mod' vibe and all the gadgets you could expect from a hotel in this price bracket: Bose iPod dock, a Mac, free Internet access, espresso machine, orange juicer (with oranges)... I was certainly not left wanting. The breakfast package was generous compared to similar offerings in other serviced apartments, and certainly more than I could eat at 8am.

The views from that height are great (even if Birmingham isn't the most picturesque city in the world) and the windows actually open - there is a protective barrier of sorts to stop you from falling out. That said, when the wind picks up and is rushing past the window at 100mph, maybe it's best to leave the windows closed.

My biggest gripe is probably the lack of a noticeable entrance. I walked past the front door several times because it wasn't clear that these weren't private flats, but once I was in I was happy, and would definitely stay here again.

A word of warning for those that frequently stay in serviced apartments - the smaller rooms are self-contained studios, not much grander than a good hotel room. Don't expect corridors and separate rooms beyond the bathroom once you're inside.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havanarepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Hello havanarepublic

Thank you for the great write up - we hope you are able to stay longer next time so you have time to use all of the apartment's facilities fully.

We have listened to your feedback and that of other guests and have commissioned better indoor and outdoor signage as we are aware that some guests struggle to find the entrance. (For the benefit of future guests the entrance is located between two shops: Zara and Carphone Warehouse on New Street).

As Rotunda is cylindrical, the apartment shapes are different to regular apartment blocks. We have four types of rooms: studios (Minis), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (Penthouses) which are all different sizes.

All apartments have windows that open fully (like French windows) which are a joy in the Spring and Summer months but as you say, they should stay firmly shut in the Winter months!

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We had one night without the children and so wanted somewhere near but different. It was fantastic. We opened the sliding door and really enjoyed the views over the south side of the city in both the daytime and when it was dark. Milk, coffee, oranges for the juicer are all supplied and no need to take toiletries as gorgeous ones are supplied.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Think which side of the city you would like to look out over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busymum001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Hello busymum001

We’re so happy that you like the cut of our jib. Thank you for choosing us for your very special night away and for your lovely review.

We try to make everyone feel at home (in a chic, stylish kind of way!), so we’re very pleased that you enjoyed those little touches and the wowser views.

Hopefully we will see you again soon (you could even bring the children and enjoy our comp Cool for Kids package!).

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Have stayed in the Rotunday twice now and still love it and would stay again, to wake up on new years day and open the curtains the view is fantastic. The appartments are very good everything you need is catered for,the bedroom is a little small but you are asleep so not a major problem. The longe area and kitchen is plenty big eniough and the location of the Rotunda can not be beaten. Out of the front dood and straight into the Bull Ring for shopping and some good Restaurants.
Will stay again

Room Tip: All Good I Think
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Hello Brian A

It is always a pleasure to read reviews from guests who have stayed with us twice or more. We're really pleased that Rotunda continues to delight. Thank you for choosing Staying Cool for your stays in Birmingham and we very much look forward to looking after you on your next visit.

Best wishes
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Property: Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the top of the city's iconic Rotunda and enjoy amazing views of the city from your very own beautifully designed apartment right in the heart of the city centre (Selfridges will be your corner shop). Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the Penthouses have their own outdoor balconies. These stylish apartments have been designed with your maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). And if you don't like heights, we have two apartments on level two (the Olympian and Cabriolet). In short, stay in the best location, in an award winning Grade II listed building and experience life like a local. If you book via Staying Cool's website then you will get a complimentary bottle of wine or free parking and the guaranteed cheapest rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing