We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Always late

Do not take this company if you want to be in time. They are always late. We almost lose our flight... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
via mobile
Surprise end

Taking the coach from Gatwick airport to London Victoria, then connecting a coach to go to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Canterbury, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 753 reviews
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Birmingham
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
See what travellers are saying:
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Der Einfachheit halber kopiere ich meinen Text an den Kundenservice rein:

Dear Ladies and Gentlemen,
ticket number: Xxxx
Ryanair reference: Xxxxx
on 26th February 2018 my girlfried and me started our return journey from London to Frankfurt. Our flight started at 19:50 pm, so we had to be at the airport at 17:50 pm. The planned travel time to the airport is 90 minutes.
At 14:55 pm we walked to / arrived Whitechapel, where our bus arrived on 23th February 2018. We waited there until 15:55 pm but no service was available (not service at 15:05 and 15:35, no online tracking available / error message) . We got nervous and took the subway and the Stansted Express to be punctual at the airport.
That cost us £ 35.80 pm.
At the airport we spoke with Helen, who confirmed the failure / service stoppage and referred me to these contact form on website.
I wish a refund of the costs incurred to me and please contact me by e-mail.


Thank you for your email.

I am sorry to learn that you were unable to complete your journey with us to Stansted Airport recently. I understand due to the delay you decided to make your own way. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and upset caused.

Looking at the GPS tracker on board our A8 services, I can confirm there was a coach at London Whitechapel at 15:14 and 15:35 I am therefore unsure why you did not see the vehicle.

With regards to your request for a refund on the additional costs that you have incurred, I can only advise you to claim this from your own travel insurer.

Thank you again for taking the time to contact us, your feedback is greatly appreciated. If we may be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us on 03717 818181; our lines are available between the hours of 08:00 and 22:00.

Yours Sincerely

Safeena Akhtar
Customer Relations Executive

1  Thank goseyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

I have to thank National Express for getting me here today in all the snow. Set off on time and the driver was able to avoid a hold up on the M40.

However my seat wasn’t comfortable. It needs an adjustable headrest and I had to use my travel pillow in the small of my back. The overhead bag storage rattled a lot, which was a bit annoying

I would use them again, and my daughter has used them loads of times to get from Coventry to Heathrow with no problem, even booking on the day at the coach station

1  Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Paid for 4 x return tickets to Heathrow airport. Arrived slightly late but ok, although a family that got on at Reading only had 2 seats instead of 3, so the 10 year old had to sit on his mum’s lap. Health & safety states all passengers must wear a seat belt!!!!

Return journey, we missed our coach by 10 minutes. Joined the queue to speak to an agent and they told me I would have to pay £132 for a single journey home to Bristol. She told me to go online and book as it may be cheaper. Yep a whole £11!!!! So we missed a bus that we had a return ticket for, the next bus had 14 seats empty and I have to pay £121 for myself and 3 daughters to get home. Have complained and while they are sympathetic to my dilemma the ticket prices stands! Absolutely disgusting. I’ll take whatever action I can get in future to find an alternative mode of transport. A company whose loyal customers don’t count!

3  Thank bella016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Got tickets online for gatwick to London ...
I almost lost my flight because of them ... luckily I have the strange habit to go to airport way before the hour of my flight glad I did that.
The bus driver got us there 1 hour and 20 minutes later ... when we got there we got out of the bus and started taking the luggage of the bus like a snail and we were already terribely late so a tried to take my luggage and his head bumped in to the bus e told him I was sorry and he got really mad I told him again that I was sorry ...

1  Thank Ana Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

National Express coaches are among the cheapest and most practical ways of travelling around the UK and even abroad. In fact, I have done the journey France-England, Manchester-London, etc. in the past. This time, I was travelling between cities under an hour apart. Rather than speaking solely of this journey, I am going to sum up my experience and the lessons learnt.

When your driver is good, the spaces are not oversold, the toilets work and do not extend an unsanitary stink onto the rest of the coach, the WiFi works, your travelling 'mates' are respectful, the air conditioning works, the traffic flows, the coach has been efficiently cleaned between travels then you have a great ride.

But it is easy for any of these to go south and for a ride to be ruined. So I consider the following to manage my expectations and properly enjoy my choice: I never take this coach if I want peace and quiet or have a backache, I take earlier coaches if I'm in a hurry, I book in advance when I want even lower prices, I compare with train prices as they are sometimes competitive, I consider the WiFi as a bonus not an essential (e.g. I have data in case WiFi doesn't work), I keep my luggage minimal (backpack) and with me.

I have had a great sober driver, an inebriated driver, a good driver with poor bedside manners... What I realised is that a third of your journey rides on your driver, another third on the coach and the last third on your preparations for that journey, including expectations. National Express journeys are relatively cheap even though I think they can do better both in their prices and in the selection and constant review of their drivers and coaches.

Where I get same prices as trains, I might go with the train alternative depending on the company, the station location both for departure and arrival logistics, the weather, the time of day and my own mood and circumstances. Having a choice and taking advantage of the right opportunity might also help wake up National Express to the fact that even cheap requires a minimum in terms of service delivery, a minimum they should more vehemently work to consistently achieve.

1  Thank Tiki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamieNX, Digital Contacts Team Manager at National Express, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi Tiki

Thanks for the review and for sharing your experiencing when travelling with National Express. You seem to have had a variety of experiences and I hope that the majority of your journeys with us have been satisfactory to your needs.

You have given a balanced review of good and bad - we admit we don't get it right every time but we learn from our mistakes and try to learn and improve from them .

You have mentioned that you once witnessed an inebriated driver but all of our coaches require the driver to blow into a breathalyzer for the engine to start. If there is the slightest trace of alcohol in the drivers system the engine will lock out and the driver will not be able to continue with their journey.

Thanks again for your feedback



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews