We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot by the river and great service”
Review of The Saxon Mill

The Saxon Mill
Ranked #79 of 147 Restaurants in Warwick
Price range: US$24 - US$32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We went for sunday lunch two weeks ago, with a two year old and a five year old - usually a bad idea in a busy pub. I was pleasantly surprised by the speed and efficiency of service - took about ten minutes from ordering to hot food arriving. I had a vegetarian nut roast which was really delicious. The staff were very nice about providing tiny quantities for the children and charging appropriately.
There is a grill through which you can see the old mill wheel (good for kids' interest), a river running through it, and a bridge for playing Pooh sticks.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ruth12313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Saxon Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback and for recommending The Saxon Mill. It's great to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 2,245 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Lovely gastro pub next to a lovely river. Didn't see it at it's best as I visited on a rainy wet March day. Lunch was good and staff very obliging.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Saxon Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Many thanks for your recommendation. We appreciate your kind comments and hope that next time you get to enjoy the river views in the sun.

Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Very surprised to read the negative reviews but maybe all of the service and attention was on the wedding we were guests at. All of the staff were extremely attentive and we were very impressed that 70 people were served food so efficiently. Even more impressive as it wasn’t a set menu we had all been able to choose from 7 different mains 5 starters and 5 desserts.
All the food was delicious and well presented we certainly understand why it was chosen for the wedding venue. We hope to be able to return

Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Saxon Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi Kay, I'm so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the wedding and will make sure our team receive your kind comments.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Good service with staff attentive and supportive of the birthday event. However the Sunday roast meals were not up to scratch and a bit mean on the meat also the roast potatoes and Yorkshire puds were very poor, rock hard Yorkshire puddings and over cooked or reheated roast potatoes vegetables however were good. This restaurant can do better. So disappointed with the quality of some of the food.

Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Saxon Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi Tim, I'm sorry to hear that the food served during your recent meal with us fell below expectations. Your comments are being addressed with our Head Chef so that we can ensure improvements are made going forward.

Our apologies if this tainted your birthday celebrations in any way.

Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Stopped off for a drink over Easter week end and the place and staff were so welcoming we ended up staying for dinner. Lots of choice for food and drink and the staff were very polite and helpful. Will return as soon as we can.

Thank covfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Saxon Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit over the Easter weekend. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saxon Mill also viewed

 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Saxon Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing