We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roast beef and apple pie”
Review of Rose & Crown

Rose & Crown
Reserve with OpenTable
Rose & Crown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 155 Restaurants in Warwick
Price range: US$19 - US$58
Cuisines: European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The rose & crown is a 17th century inn with rooms tucked into the corner of warwick's market square. We serve the good stuff: fresh seasonal food, a quality pint, great wine, well-made coffee, all with a genuine welcome for old guests and new.
Reviewed 23 May 2016

The food was recommended as traditional English and that was what we've been after. The waitress was friendly and gave us a good guidance.
The apple pie was more mashed apple than pie, but nice and fresh and yummy with the added custard.
Not to mention the Pilsener Urquell from the Czech Republic!

Thank toandreaswagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich D, General Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Well you can't get much more British than Roast beef and apple pie, and that's certainly what we're aiming for with our menu and character. Lovely to read that you enjoyed your visit. We recommend a visit to the Urquell brewery in Plzen if you get a chance. The original and best.

Kind regards
Rich Donnachie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 275 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

As a prelude to a wedding the next day, our family wanted a nice, comfy place to eat lunch and chose the Rose and Crown public house in Market Place in the centre of town.
The staff were happy to accommodate our large party at a moments notice and the drinks were swift in coming.
I usually struggle to find maybe one or two suitable choices given my fussy dietary preferences, but even I was pleasantly surprised being spoilt for choice with an excellent menu.
Definitely worth a visit.

Thank MarkMishandAud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich D, General Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Hello hello! What a pleasure to read your review of our lovely pub. We're very proud of our fantastic menu and have recently launched a menu for the summer with more seasonal flavours and ingredients. Doors are always open at the 'Rose' and we'd love to welcome you back next time you're in Warwick.

Kind regards
Rich Donnachie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Just had lunch here, we were given menus and specials board and ordered one course each from main menu. No member of staff told us there was a set lunch menu, which we only discovered on our way out, when we heard another customer ask for it specifically. Food was fine , but it is not good to find out you have just paid more for one course than two for exactly the same food !!!!
Unlikely to return .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich D, General Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Hello there Fiona.
I'm really disappointed to read your review of us, and feel that we definitely didn't live up to our peachy ideals in your case. You should certainly have not paid over the odds when we usually offer a fixed price menu each lunchtime. If you'd be kind enough to give us another chance, then I'll happily buy you lunch on me (which only seems fair). If you'd like to take me up on my offer then please do get in touch with me and I'll take care of the rest.

Cordially
Rich Donnachie
richard.donnachie@peachpubs.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday night quite late and was warmly welcomed and well looked after. Lots of good beers and great good quality food available. Definitely one of the best and would highly recommend Relaxing and good for foodie just a beer and a chat. Fantastic traditional old English setting

Thank mrb346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich D, General Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Hello there Mister B. What a pleasure to read your nice words about our lovely little pub. We always like a bit of chat with our guests. Stop by any time for a laugh, a grumble or maybe just some fantastic food. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

My wife and I visited at 11:25am on a busy Saturday morning just before the breakfast cut off. Staff were very accommodating and our food was delivered to the table within 10 minutes of ordering. The food was delicious but it's the little touches that made our visit extra enjoyable. Dogs are welcomed into the bar area (we're dog fans). The tea cups came to our table pre-warmed so our tea from the pot didn't immediately go cold. Smartys on the side for consumers with a sweet tooth! The ambiance of the room was lovely with stylish decor that differed in every room. I look forward to visiting one evening for another delicious meal.

Thank Andrew_Lee_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich D, General Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Hello Andrew,
Just a quick note to thank you for your lovely review of the Rose & Crown. We're super pleased to see that our hard work is paying off and our guests are noticing the little efforts we go to to make all of our guests welcome, and serving the good stuff. We've a new summer menu launched just last week and you would be more than welcome to visit when you're next in Warwick. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Rich Donnachie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose & Crown also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing