We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrightington hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Reviewed 8 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 124StephenW
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,809)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,461 - 1,465 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

Generally speaking the hotel was good but the restaurant experience on the first day was awful.

We had a junior suite booked for 2 nights using the Mercure 'Ready for Romance' offer.
We arrived at 2pm and our room wasn't ready, this in itself wasn't a problem but the alternative room we were given had a dirty bathrobe which took two calls to reception to get it changed (more than 5 hours).

Restaurant staff did not appear to be aware of the 'Ready for Romance' break that we were booked on, and argued with me when I said we had been given the wrong menu.
I eventually showed the waiter what menu we should be choosing from, it was displayed at the restaurant entrance, and he said he thought it was for Valentines day only, although it was clearly dated 10-20th Feb.
We proceeded to order food from the 'Ready for Romance' menu but when it was served it was clearly from the standard menu i.e. main course should have been Salmon on Crushed New potatoes with Shallots but we received Grilled Salmon in a Mussel sauce. I don't eat shell fish so would never have ordered this.

We ordered at 7:15pm
Our starter, soup, arrived at 7:45.
Sorbet was served at 8:00 but was dropped on the floor.
Main course was served at 8:30
At 9:00 we still had empty plates in front of us so left before being asked if we wanted desert.

My girlfriend though the waiter was either drunk or on drugs, he certainly didn't appear to be in a healthy condition.

I complained to reception on the way back to our room and was told by the receptionist that she didn't know what was wrong but we were the second couple to complain. We certainly saw 2 other couples walk out before us.

I complained to the front of house manager the following day and was guaranteed the service would be better that evening, I'm pleased to say it was very much improved.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mutley60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the delay in serving your meal on the Sunday. We genuinely had an "off-day" which caused some delay in preparing the food. I have spoken to our Restaurant Supervisor, who had a bad cold on that day. He explained that he apologised to you and offered a glass of wine as a gesture of goodwill.

I hope you that this experience will not deter you from visiting the Shakespeare Hotel in the future. Please contact me direct and I will personally look after your reservation.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Higganum, CT
11
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Pleasant inn with a friendly staff, particularly the waitresses and reception desk ladies. Walkable to the village and Shakespeare attractions, which is a must because parking is very limited. The village is amazing; ancients homes and pubs, still serving since the time of the Bard. A great place to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments on our restaurant and reception staff. This is much appreciated. I am pleased that you enjouyed your time at The Shakepeare and Stratford-upon-Avon.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Lovely hotel very old, full of original beams and uneven floors. However, it does need a refurbishment of the bedrooms and bedding and the carpets need a thorough steam cleaning throughout.
Very good staff, lovely food excellent position in Stratford Upon Avon

Room Tip: Old rooms at front are very dark
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovesquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel and staff. We have just completed a refurbishment of the majority of our bathrooms and the total ground floor. We have also created 5 additional bedrooms and the next phase is the replacing tiles on the roof and restoring the facade. The upkeep of an old building like the Shakespeare Hotel is ongoing and our owner is committed in investing in our hotel.

Please let me know when you would like to stay with us when you visit Stratford-upon-Avon and I will allocate a newly refurbished room for you.

I am looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is perfectly located for an overnight or weekend trip to Stratford-upon-Avon. Theatre less than five minutes walk away and a myriad of restaurants right on the doorstop. We were initially given a room in the Garrick wing of the hotel which was spacious but very noisy, fronting onto the very busy Sheep Street. There was no problem however when we asked to be moved to a quieter location and we were duly transferred to a room in the main part of the hotel. This was a little smaller than the first room but perfectly adequate for an overnight spot and nice and quiet. Comfortable bed, plenty of toiletries and close to all the attractions Stratford has to offer. Parking was £10 for a 24 hour stay - quite reasonable for such a central part of the town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main part of the hotel
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedKlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments here at the Tripadvisor website.

I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to learn that we were able to assist with another room for you.

We hope to welcome you back real soon.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,341 reviews
0.5 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,102 reviews
0.3 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,137 reviews
2.0 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,970 reviews
0.1 km away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: €76 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel England
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing