We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Reviewed 18 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldburyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,801)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,460 - 1,464 of 1,801 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

I took my partner to this hotel for a birthday treat and we couldnt fault the hotel. We were upgraded to a 'junior suite', beautiful room, fully equipped. My only fault was the room was a little cold but the hotel did supply us with an extra heater. Very attentive and helpful staff, lovely breakfast. Location was great as only 2 minute walk into town or to RSC. Think they must have only limited spaces in own car park but there were a few carparks within walking distance, all charging roughly same prices. Would definatly visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review. Your comments about the junior suite and our staff are greatly appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back real soon.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager
Mercure Shakespeare Hotel
Stratford-upon-Avon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed for one night on 11th February and rented two adjacent rooms (King suite and twin). Both were ready early, spotless and spacious - bathrooms were an excellent size. The beds were very comfortable and there were ample blankets for anyone feeling the cold, although the heating was adequate for most. Rooms are well equipped and fresh milk is available for tea etc. We dined in the Othello and staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating, food delicious. The breakfast was better than at some we have stayed in, with tea/coffee and fresh toast delivered to your table and ample choice, only delay was with cooked which was refreshed regularly but in small quantities considering the demand- better for being fresh but the delay bothered some. Having said that, nothing was too much trouble for the very busy staff which made up for any delay. We visit Stratford regularly and will definitely return to this hotel - the only blot was a few guests who appeared to be professional complainers, including one obnoxious man who caused a scene as we arrived for breakfast and nearly caused injury as he barged up to the maitre d' who was showing us to our table. These people who seemed focussed on knocking a few pounds off their bill were very much in the minority and we would recommend the hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: We rented a suite which was located at the side and offered quiet location overlooking garden.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliza_bSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel and our team. I would also like to thank you for your observations during your stay with us. It is refreshing to learn from a guest's perspective.

We hope to welcome you back to The Shakespeare in the near future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Oxford, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The hotel is ideally located in the centre of Stratford and is pleaseant enough in the public spaces. I had the "Othello" room for the night and although it was a cold winters nights the heating was simply not up to the job - I'm not someone who usually feels the cold that much either.

The rooms were tired looking, in need of a spruce up (as well as an improvement on the heating of course), albeit it was a comfortable nights sleep (when warm under the duvet).

As I say good location but bordering on the over priced for what is on offer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience on the Tripadvisor website. Please accept my sincere apologies for the heating issue in your room.

I hope this will not deter you from returning to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We were impressed with the hotel however they did not specify properly on the website the charge for the parking overnight. They also did not make us aware of this charge upon check in. When it was time to pay and leave the wanted the payment and when I told them that I double checked the information about parking on the website because it was the reason why we chose that hotel, they were extremely unfriendly and unhelpful.

For this silly charge, we will no longer use one of their hotels.

The walls are also very thin and we were up all night with hearing people screaming in the hallways as they were coming home from a night out.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management6630, General Manager at Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us on the Tripadvisor website. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered.

We do take pride in our service standards and we will take your comments on board to improve the guest experience going forward.

I hope this will not deter you from returning to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,


Marnix Teeken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,335 reviews
0.5 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,100 reviews
0.3 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,135 reviews
2.0 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,965 reviews
0.1 km away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: €81 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Tudor hotel with 74 ensuite rooms located in the centre of Shakespeare's Stratford. Ideal for exploring local villages, the Cotswolds, shops and theatres of Stratford. 19 miles from Birmingham International Airport, 1 mile from Stratford upon Avonstation, 10 miles from Warwick Parkway station. Easily accessible via the M40. David Garrick Restaurant, Othello's Bar Brassiere, Quill Bar and Lounge, 6 conference rooms with natural light for up to 100 delegates. Limited parking at GBP10.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel England
Accor Stratford Upon Avon
Shakespeare Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing