We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A haven in Avon!”

Review of The Ling Lodges

A view of the separate Wet Room and Changing Rooms.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view of the separate Wet Room and Changing Rooms.
Front view of The Lodges, totally private seating area, huge Patio and BBQ, and large Gardens.. The Ling Lodges on the left, the Indoor Pool through the Patio doors on the right...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
69 reviews
A view of the separate Wet Room and Changing Rooms.
Front view of The Lodges, totally private seating area, huge Patio and BBQ, and large Gardens..
The Ling Lodges on the left, the Indoor Pool through the Patio doors on the right...
The Dining and kitchen area with large extending Table to seat 10.
A comfortable place to sit, put your feet up and watch the large Flatscreen Telly
Beautifully furnished throughout....another sitting area to relax, read, watch TV..
A gorgeous Bedroom - this with a lovely clean modern en suite off complete with power shower.
Another of the three Bedrooms. This Room a Family Room with two single Beds and bunk beds also.
Another of the three stylish Bedrooms with en suite Bathroom and countryside views.
The Lodges are nestled in beautiful country Gardens.
Beautifully tended Gardens....
and  perhaps relax with a good Book and a Glass of wine.
Local wildlife pop in and out!
Large Private Gardens so space to relax...walk...perhaps a game of Football or Frisbee..
Fabulous Holiday Sunsets right outside your Bedroom windows.
Book a Limo and take your group to Dinner in style....
or all stay in and cook Dinner at The Lodge.
Some lovely local places to visit.
You are bound to see the Deer roaming too....
The Lodges are just through the arch on the right.
Just over the garden fence....our neighbours!
Some of our amazing local wildlife...
If you don't fancy eating out have a swim and a BBQ...
After a BBQ the night before perhaps a day out Shopping in Stratford or Bicester.
Lots of wonderful Shops to choose from!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suzie90
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Earn your keep to stay in this cottage”
Reviewed 10 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was pleasant but not the best cottage we've stayed in. Swimming pool was spacious and good fun.
Before we arrived (check in time was 5pm which I consider very late) I had to pay £200 deposit, which I had transfer into the owners acc and he would return the funds via cheque (obviously minus any damages) within 7 days (I then had to wait 5 days before the £200 was cleared) so overall I was minus £200 for over 2 weeks.
The cottage has manuals for all the guests - the manual basically consists of cleaning duties for the guests after their stay. The instructions are to basically clean the whole of the cottage (Hoover, polish, clean oven, clean shower, clean toilet, take sheets off the beds, mop and the list goes on....). I think that if you hire a cottage and pay a significant amount, I expect a cleaner to be provided within the cost to clean after each stay. Obviously we would have left the cottage in a respectable manner but I do not expect to be given orders to clean before we leave.
We were even criticised about the way we left the bins (wheelie bin) and that the bin men wouldn't be too impressed! Bins are there to dispose of rubbish, what do they expect?!
As a group we were thoroughly disappointed with the overall experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2011
Thank you for your review of The Ling Lodges. We use Trip Advisor to comment on Properties that we stay in too. It is a superb tool for Holiday Makers to use but of course we all need to be candid and be fair about our assessments for the Trip Advisor Review System to work for the benefit of us all…..
You mention the arrival time of 5pm – you chose not to mention however that we offered to get The Lodge cleaned earlier for you so that you could all arrive at 12 Noon.
You mentioned the Breakage Deposit which you had to pay - this is entirely normal practise in any self catering accommodation. We were therefore surprised not to receive a Deposit from you as agreed and then to receive an email from you just three days before you arrived saying :
“ I just feel this deposit has casted a dark cloud over the planned stay.”
We do provide an information Folder for all of our guests. This Folder tells about our local area, things to do, Restaurants we recommend, places to visit etc etc. We are very pleased to provide this information to our Guests. In this Folder there is also a section on cleaning. We believe that cleanliness is a very important issue to our Guests.
When our Guests leave they can either pay an amount and our professional cleaners will clean The Lodges before our next Guests arrive, or do it themselves and pay nothing. In any event Jan and I always double check The Lodges ourselves before the arrival of every Guest.
We believe that this is a fair system – We are not going to penalise those who are fair with us by charging more just to allow for those who are not fair.
Your final comment in your Review was that you were “thoroughly disappointed with the overall experience.” Somewhat odd as after you had left I sent you an email asking if you had all had a good time and your response was:
“Yes we had a lovely time, I think we drank too much and stayed awake too late on the Fri and the Sat night; gave up on the Sunday (we can't handle it like we used to!).”
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayMacdon...
1 review
“A haven in Avon!”
Reviewed 16 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011

I chose Lower Ling Lodge back in April to celebrate my 29th birthday and even before we arrived my friends and I were amazed by what a beautiful property we were renting at such a reasonable price!

David and Jan (the property owners) could not have been more helpful and made arranging the trip hassle free!

We arrived late on Friday night after a nightmare journey due to car issues and were met by Dave and Jan who's smiling faces made the long day all worthwhile... As did the property and surrounding we were introduced to!

On Saturday morning we were able to appreciate just how fantastic the lodge and grounds were and we were all exceptionally happy! We spent the day by the pool, soaking up some sun in privacy and with Stratford only a few miles away we also ventured out for a few drinks in the evening!

I could not recommend Lower Ling Lodge and it's hosts any higher! 100% Value for money and customer satisfaction guaranteed!

Whilst staying at The Lodge be sure to visit The Kings Head for an amazing meal but do book in advance as they get very busy!

Dave and Jan thanks once again for a fabulous weekend and we will see you all again very soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2011
You and your girlfriends were all very charming and the thank you bunch of flowers that you bought for Jan before you left were really appreciated by us both....we were touched by your kind words too and really glad that you all had such a good time....
David & Jan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing