We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Expedia.com
US$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$96
US$84
View deal
SAVE US$12
PricelineUS$88
Agoda.comUS$88
StayForLongUS$96
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,863)
Filter reviews
1,863 results
Traveller rating
955
622
188
58
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
955
622
188
58
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station great location self service corner room city centre minute walk car park top floor lovely hotel buffet breakfast would stay again comfy bed twin room booked this hotel saturday night one night stay bars and restaurants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,863 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2020

I chose this hotel for two reasons, incredible price and incredible location right across the road from Newcastle Central Train Station. The rooms are extremely good, and as a Hilton Honors Diamond Member I was upgraded to a corner room, 618 which was great with a good view of the city. There was however, no refrigerator in the room which was a bit of a pain.

Getting here was easy. I flew into NCL so took the Metro to the hotel with a Zone A, B and C ticket for 3.60 GBP. I left by train.

Lots of things to see and do around as Newcastle is a very walkable city. I walked to St. James' Park and intu Eldon Square Mall for example. No need for taxis nor public transport.

The only major disappointment during the stay with breakfast. It was so bad, I only went for the grab and go bag once during my stay. Do yourself a favour and find one of the many Greggs or Costa's within walking distance. The Grab and Go bag was absolutely repulsive and a complete joke. I got rubber cheese, six sticks of butter, box of cereal, orange juice and milk boxes, cup, plate and bowl in a brown bag. No pastry nor bread. Nothing hot. What is one to do with all that cheese and butter? I've stayed at other Hilton properties across the UK this month who are offering hot breakfasts again a la carte style, without issue and whilst adhering to the COVID-19 protocols.

The internet at the property is best described as stable but slow. 3.12 MBPS is ridiculous in 2020. London Hilton on Park Lane clocks in at 92 MBPS for example. This needs improvement as it limits what you can do especially in these times when many work meetings are via Zoom and FaceTime.

Despite the terrible breakfast, I would stay here again on a future trip to Newcastle.

Room tip: Ask for a high floor corner room.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BGIWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle Tindall, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

Hi BGIWorldTraveller
Thanks for leaving feedback following your recent stay, we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our city and will return to stay with Hampton by Hilton in the future.
Regarding your breakfast experience - we are a little perplexed how you seem to have received a real 'mixed assortment' and truly apologise that you did not receive the full compliment of items. Our staff are always available to resolve any queries and would have been happy to provide you with the missing items.
Whilst our breakfast offering is currently restricted by Covid-19 to 'Grab and Go' or Table Service only, the Breakfast in a Bag contents should comprise Cereal and Milk, Pastries and Bread, Cheese, Butter and Jam, Yoghurt, Fresh Fruit, Choice of Hot Drink and Orange Juice. We now also offer the additional hot choices of either Porridge or a Sausage Sandwich.
Thanks again for leaving a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Toon.

Kind Regards
Michelle Tindall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2020

Stayed here on a Saturday night as having a night out with friends.
Wasn’t sure what to expect as we got the room last minute and cheap but WOW. Top floor room with a view of St James’s. So clean, spacious and light.
Shower was fantastic, very comfy bed and the receptionist on check in was super friendly.
Will 100% stay again and recommend to friends when we plan another night out!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JandBtravels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle Tindall, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

Dear JandBtravels12
Thanks for the fabulous feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us in Newcastle, and enjoyed your view of the Toon. There are certainly some great views of the city from our top floor rooms! Our staff are always excited to welcome our guests, and are looking forward to seeing you back in the hotel again soon.
Kind Regards
Michelle Tindall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2020 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting Newcastle for the first time. The room was clean and spacious. Check in and check out was a breeze. Great central location for an amazing price. Breakfast was basic and was the only downfall to the stay, but not enough to award less than 5*. Would stay here again if we ever return.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AJ9933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle Tindall, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

Hi AJ9933,

Thanks for taking time out to leave a review of your recent stay at Hampton Newcastle. The team are delighted with your 5* feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Toon again in the future.

Kind Regards
Michelle Tindall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2020

From the start things looked good in the heart of the city staff fantastic friendly and helpful. Then things went down hill only one lift working .breakfast in a bag very bland hay it's the time we are in .then as always family room 2 cups and 2 glasses and 2 towels then to top it all no draft larger 2 kinds of bottlelarger and on the third night no vodka lam afraid we will not be back o and room on the small size compared to budget hotels stayed in recently

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johnmG4845XA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle Tindall, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

Dear JohnmG4845XA
Thank you for leaving feedback following your recent stay in Newcastle. We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with some elements of your visit. To minimise crowding, and to maintain social distancing protocols in the lift lobbies - the hotel has reduced the number of lifts operating, and is encouraging guests to use the stairs where possible. Whilst our breakfast offering is currently restricted due to Covid-19, the offering continues to be varied and includes cereal and milk, croissants, bread, cheese, jam, fresh fruit and yoghurt as well as hot drinks, orange juice and the additional hot choice selections of either porridge or a sausage sandwich. The bedrooms are set up as standard for 2 guests and apologise that the additional amenities were not provided in advance of your arrival. This was an oversight on our part. Regarding the bar service - due to the reduced capacities, it is not currently viable for us to serve draught lager or draught soft drinks and instead we are offering our best selling bottled items as an alternative.
Our staff are available at all times, to resolve any guest queries or concerns. It is therefore disappointing to learn that you would not return to the hotel, however we do appreciate you having shared your experience.
Kind Regards
Michelle Tindall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2020

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with two families .
Hotel is centrally located walking distance to all main sites and in front of main train station.Room were big with simple and nicely decorated .
Beds were comfy and good sizes . Bathrooms were also good with totalities etc .WIFI was good .
Breakfast was not that amazing as we thought mainly i guess because of Corona virus situation !! we especially asked for separate big table which they did but breakfast was in a bags so you have to collect ,grab your bag and go to your or eat there .breakfast bags did not have enough variety of items so in our opinion they could have added more items !!!
Reception service was good and helpful. Note there is no car park at hotel so you have to find it .
Overall it was great stay at this hotel .

Date of stay: July 2020
2  Thank Heerranjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews