We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday delight ”

Blackfriars Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Blackfriars Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$80
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Newcastle Central Station
Description: Established in 1239 as a Dominican friary, Blackfriars is believed to be the oldest purpose-built restaurant in the UK, having served as the refectory for the Dominican friars more than 800 years ago. Today it serves gutsy, traditional British food using seasonal produce from the local farms and producers; showcasing the North East at its best. As well as an excellent value lunch and early evening menu they also serve an a la carte menu and the best Sunday roast in Newcastle. After dining at Blackfriars you will see why it was voted Taste of England at the North East England Tourism Awards. There is also a cosy Parlour Bar for a drink, bar snack or cocktail before or after dinner. Above the restaurant Blackfriars has a Cookery School and wine, beer and whisky Tasting Room. Blackfriars also has a 50-seat Banquet Hall for private dining, corporate and private parties and weddings and a beautiful Cloister Garden for al fresco dining.
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Booked this for my boyfriend’s birthday. We had read great reviews and this didn’t disappoint. We thought it was must be good when it was so busy on a Tuesday night.
Food and service was absolutely brilliant. We had the set menu which was fantastic value but didn’t disappoint in taste or portion size. Have recommended this to so many people since going on Tuesday evening. Small hidden gem in the centre of Newcastle. We will definitely be coming back to try the al a carte menu.

Thank Dawn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T, Reservationist at Blackfriars Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and for spreading the good word about Blackfriars.

You'd be most welcome to join us again very soon; our new A La Carte Autumn has just been released this week, so that may give you a good excuse to join us again to try some of our new dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2018

Visited this excellent place today for the first time as a surprise present from our very dear friends David and Susan. Had the lunchtime menu and went for the three course special. Did not disappoint from a wide range of starters, black pudding fritters were excellent, main course ranged from chicken to fish and chips and a good sweet menu. Opted for the jelly etc. All cooked and served to perfection washed down with a fine bottle of New Zealand Pinot. Top service by the two young ladies waiting on and our thanks to you all.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank digitraisedwhenasked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T, Reservationist at Blackfriars Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you for your kind words, all of your feedback will be shared amongst the team as we love to hear such lovely comments.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you to Blackfriars again another time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Visited Blackfriars during restaurant week and it did not disappoint.
Food was excellent and the portion size was just right.
Service very attentive but not over the top.
Would recommend and will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T, Reservationist at Blackfriars Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent visit to Blackfriars and please feel to return another time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Myself and partner booked as part of the Newcastle Restaurant week. It was our first visit to Blackfriars and we would definitely return. The food and ingredients were obviously of the highest quality and the service very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere was relaxed and unrushed. It was very nice the portion sizes are on the small side, but you leave feeling satisfied.

Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T, Reservationist at Blackfriars Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

We are glad you had an enjoyable evening for as part of Restaurant Week and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We visited Blackfriars as part of the Newcastle Restaurant, which we had done the year previously too. There is a good choice of starters, mains and desserts on this offer, and the quality of food is superb. The portions are not huge, but with the quality of the food, they were certainly sufficient, and both my wife and I needed a 5 minute break before having our desserts. The staff are very friendly and efficient, and also very knowledgeable about both the food, most of which is very locally sourced, and the range of wines on offer at the restaurant. All in all a lovely experience, and we will most certainly return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T, Reservationist at Blackfriars Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent visit to Blackfriars. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time during Restaurant Week.

Please join us again another time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackfriars Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Blackfriars Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing