We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food & Wonderful Service”
Review of Mascalzone

Mascalzone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Pizza , Sardinian Tapas ,pasta , lasagne , seafood Salads , Breakfast Menu , Cakes ,Croissants , Deli , Sandwiches , Coffees , Teas , Wines and Beers
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a lovely evening in Mascalzone with the family after being recommended by a friend. This recommendation was more than warranted. The restaurant has a comfortable, inviting ambiance that compliments the stellar service and inevitably delicious meal (delivered very promptly too!) Our wait staff was accommodating, flexible and kind throughout the night and even called a taxi for us after we were finished. Highly recommended and a guaranteed lovely evening.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank rorymR9938MY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2021 via mobile

Late lunch snack sitting outside.
Great venue
Fabulous staff
Great coffee
Today I had a snack of deep fried squid rings

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank John Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2021

What a fantastic find. Food was absolutely delicious. Service was first class.. we didn't have to wait any more than a few minutes between courses. Definitely the best Italian meal we've had in a long time. Couldn't recommend it enough. Staff were very friendly and chef took time to chat with us. Next time we're in Newcastle we'll be back here. We loved it!

Date of visit: August 2021
2  Thank Colette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

Took my grandson out for an early evening meal
Sat outside in the sun
Food as always was excellent
Service was good
Priced aok

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank John Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2021 via mobile

I popped in on my dinner break as I love Italian food and was asked what I wanted, I said something nice and hot, I was promptly redirected to a sandwich shop at the other end of the street, I didn't want a sandwich I wanted something like a lasagne to sit down and eat. I felt quite foolish.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascalzone D, Owner at Mascalzone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

Dear Michael,

Your were informed that we do not serve food before 12pm.
You could have waited, if you wanted something nice and hot like a lasagna.
We were only trying to help, as we do not have any interest in turning away customers.

Kind Regards
Mascalzone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mascalzone also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Mascalzone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.