We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small portions and cold”
Review of City Tavern

City Tavern
Ranked #150 of 1,206 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 23 May 2021

Had the roast beef dinner. Large amount of veg but only 2 small roast potatoes which were cold. Yorkshire pudding was basically a scrunched-up mess and also extremely small. Looked nothing like any Yorkshire pudding I've ever had before. Beef was tough and stringy and took some chewing.

Had this meal before the lockdowns and it was bigger portions and better cooked. Shame that standards seem to have dropped. For nearly £14 this just isn't worth it.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank X2119ALalanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2021

Beautiful food ,amazing service , staff were excellent I'd highly recommend the City tavern 5 star xx

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank I402QFnathanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2021

Amazing time for a family meal today. We had an incredible experience, staff bent over backwards to accommodate us in a very trying time with it being the first weekend open indoors. Absolutely fantastic food, can’t fault this place! Felt very secure and safe with the covid regulations.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank I6012CHcatherineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2021

Back to the City Tavern on the first day of Re-Opening. Nothings changed as far as the level of service and atmosphere are concerned. Still as excellent as ever. Waitress table service fast and friendly. Atmosphere chilled. Food (although didn't have any) looked superb as always as I saw other guests being served. Looking forward to many afternoons and evenings here.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Y8723HHdavidp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2021 via mobile

Visited here a couple of times since easing of covid restrictions and though prices are steep the drinks are good, however after visiting today won’t be back ! The price of a pint of Moretti has increased from £5.25 to £5.65 in just over a week? It’s not that your paying for the view (Primark) or the service which was average so I basically can’t see how these prices are justified?

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank lilleykz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Owner at City Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2021

We haven’t put our prices up for over two years but could no longer absorb the supplier price increases anymore. The brewers prices have increased in percentage terms recently vastly more than our 40p price increase. You say you can’t see how these prices are justified: I could talk you through it, but I’d run over the maximum word count. We’ve been forced to close for 11 out of the past 14 months and have struggled as a result, as many have in the hospitality industry have. During this time our fixed costs have remained, rent had to be paid, and we supported our team throughout. At the time of your review we were open outdoors during which time we lose more money than we do closed, but we do it to provide a service to our loyal customers. Sorry the view of Primark isn’t to your liking, I’ll get straight on to Newcastle City Council to see if perhaps they could swap it for the hanging gardens of Babylon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Tavern also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to City Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.