We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,055)
Filter reviews
3,055 results
Traveller rating
1,587
887
372
133
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,587
887
372
133
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews millennium bridge bridge view corner suite afternoon tea mini bar sunday lunch cooked breakfast an upgrade superior room lovely hotel car park birthday treat a lovely stay hotel bar lovely room public areas bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 3,055 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Visited the Chez Mal Brasserie within Malmaison Hotel on bank holiday Monday. The restaurant was relatively quiet and we were given a window seat overlooking the Millennium bridge and river. We ordered from the spring menu which consisted of either 2 or 3 courses depending upon how hungry you were. Don our waiter was full of banter and a really friendly chap. He knew a lot about the food and drink on offer and was helpful and courteous throughout the evening. The food was exceptional and plentiful. A good night all round and a very nice restaurant to visit for a treat.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Raymond G,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your experience in our Chez Mal Brasserie.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your table in our Brasserie overlooking the Millennium bridge and Tyne River and Don looked after you so well and was so friendly.

I'm so glad that you found the food to be exceptional and plentiful.

Once again,. thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle again soon.

Kind Regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Came to the malmaison this afternoon after booking afternoon tea for two for my grandmas 80th birthday. We were seated promptly at a lovely table by the window over looking the Tyne.
We chose the mal afternoon tea which was £19 a head, really good price for what we had as we were stuffed and had to take cake home in a take out box.
Food was beautiful and the service was fantastic, couldn't fault it.
Thankyou to Rhys our waiter who was very welcoming and friendly. My grandma loved her glass of fizz.
Definitely would recommend!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Finediningcouple_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Finediningcouple_,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your recent time at Malmaison Newcastle.

I am pleased to read that you had a lovely afternoon tea for your grandmas 80th Birthday and that you enjoyed your table by the window over looking the Tyne.

I'm so glad that you found our afternoon tea good value for money and even had some cakes to take home too!

I'm so pleased to hear that you received good service and that Rhys looked after you well.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle again soon.

Kind Regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Staying here for two nights and it’s absolutely fabulous. Looked after by Layla in the bar and she is an absolute credit to the hotel. Great offers on drinks and lovely atmosphere. Had steak and frites in the restaurant and the food and service was exceptional x

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank GandaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear GandaEngland,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your visit.

It is lovely to read your comments. I am very pleased that Layla looked after you so well. I will be sure to share your comments with our teams.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Good looking hotel, friendly and cool staff, knowledgeable on what they serve! - rare!
Rooms are excellent, modern, clean and spacious - what an excellent value.
Highly recommended. Restaurant is also pretty good. Wine list could do with some improvements.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank anthonyvC6621XU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Anthony V,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your visit.

It is a pleasure to read your comments. I will certainly share your comments with our team. We are always looking for ways to improve so I will also share your comments regarding our wine list too.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Visited Spa for a few treatments with my fiance, and we were welcomed in a friendly manner. Staff Julie, Shannon and Leah were professional, very efficient and are lovely ladies and we felt totally relaxed after our treatments. We would highly recommend and would definitely go back. Thankyou ladies!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank glitter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear glitter7,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your visit.

It is lovely to read your comments. I am very pleased that Julie, Shannon and Leah looked after you so well I will be sure to share your feedback with them all.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews