We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,011)
Filter reviews
3,011 results
Traveller rating
1,557
877
369
133
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,557
877
369
133
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews millennium bridge bridge view corner suite afternoon tea mini bar sunday lunch cooked breakfast an upgrade superior room lovely hotel car park birthday treat a lovely stay hotel bar lovely room public areas bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
635 - 640 of 3,011 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Food was beautiful. Had the champagne afternoon tea and they even offered us complimentary glass of bubbles as I had just got engaged. Tessie served us shewas a lovely lady made us feel welcome and comfortable. Would deffo come again and have food or maybe even stay the night. The only thing I could fault was the automatically put on a sur charge without asking. I like to leave a tip if want to not be forced.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jadewilkie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear jadewilkie09,

Thank-you for taking the time to write your review and congratulations on your engagement!

It’s lovely to read that you enjoyed Champagne Afternoon Tea and that we were able to offer you a complimentary glass of bubbles to celebrate your recent engagement.

It’s so great to read that Tessie looked after you so well and made you feel welcome at Malmaison.

I would like to apologise for your comments regarding the service charge on your bill. This is added automatically but is not required to be paid and can be removed if the guest wishes. We add a service charge onto the end of the bill, as this is a lot fairer way of distributing tips between all staff involved in the experience, including to back of house kitchen staff. Once again I would like to apologise for this not being clear to you on the day.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle on your next stay with us and once again thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Just had the pleasure of staying at the Malmaison in Newcastle. We were a little bit early but were given the key to our upgraded room. The upgrade was free of charge.The reception staff member was most helpful and knew about our restaurant reservation and the type of stay we had booked. The room was excellent and the sofa was a welcome extra. We had a cocktail in the bar again served with a smile. The food in the restaurant was first rate and I would highly recommend the pork mixed grill. The waiting service was friendly and our table had the most fantastic view over the Tyne. We had a good nights sleep and a friendly check out. I don't think that this visit will be our last to Malmaison. Thanks for making us feel special.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Yvonne C,

Thank-you for taking the time to write your review.

It’s lovely to read that your check in experience was of a high standard and that the reception team were personable and on hand to help you have a memorable stay at Malmaison Newcastle. It’s also great to reads that we were able to offer you an complimentary upgrade and an early check in, which I’m sure made your stay even more memorable.

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the service you received in both the bar and the brasserie. We pride ourselves in delivering the highest possible customer experience and it’s great to receive feedback confirming this.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed food in our Brasserie and that you loved the fantastic views over the river Tyne.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle on your next visit and once again thank you for your positive comments.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We stay here regularly while on business in Newcastle and always look forward to our visits.
The rooms are excellent with amazing beds! The hotel has a superb atmosphere and decor, and the staff are always very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is always a pleasure and Tirso always greets us with a lovely welcome. We look forward to our next visit in a couple of weeks time.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HywelB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Hywel B,

Thank-you for taking the time to write your review.

It’s lovely to read that you enjoy your time with us for your regular visits to Newcastle. I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to Tirso.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle on your next visit and once again thank you for your positive comments.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

WHAT A FANTASTIC NIGHT!
I didn’t know what to expect at the Call my Bluff Wine Dinner at The Malmason Newcastle, in fact, I was a little bit nervous, as I'm not a wine connoisseur. Thankfully, that didn't matter.
Straight away, our host, Richard, made us all feel at ease with an arrival drink and well tasty canapés.
Basically, the night involves a delicious five course menu, paired with some cracking wines. Richard and Adam then talk about the wine at each course and you have to guess who is telling the truth.
The food is amazing, very good quality indeed, and the wines were fantastic too.
The banter between Richard and Adam also added to a thoroughly enjoyable night, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank duffmanwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear duffmanwales,

Thank-you for taking the time to write your review.

It’s a pleasure to read your comments following your time with us for our Call my Bluff wine dinner. It sounds like you had a great evening with us!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle on your next visit and once again thank you for your positive comments.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We hadn't been to Newcastle for many years and what a great find this hotel was. Great value taking advantage of a bubbles offer and then from the lovely warm welcome from Neil on reception the warmth of the city came through. A superb room (317) great pre dinner drinks great cocktails lovely bar staff and a tasty breakfast. A warm goodbye to this great hotel and this great city. Location by the millennium bridge and a Sunday walk along the riverbank with a great pop up market nearby was great fun.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tasty1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear tasty1111,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It’s lovely to read your comments following your recent stay with us. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to Neil.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle again soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews