We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of good just missing a few little bits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2017

This Hotel has a great location and lovely views of the Millennium Bridge. The staff were pretty friendly and let us store our bags whilst we did a University tour with our son. The rooms were good but had a few annoying bits like no plug sockets near your bed so you have to plug your phone in the other side of the room and a weird standard lamp that we had to move to give a view of the telly. The branding is quite cleaver like the wording on the toiletries but then the staff have to follow through so it felt clever but maybe wasn't delivered in the food areas as cleverly as the branding.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evandando4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Evandando4,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It’s a pleasure to read your comments following your recent stay. I hope you had a great time in Newcastle visiting the University with your son. I will pass your comments on for review too.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle again soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 2,518 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Really friendly staff when greeted on arrival, was made to feel really welcome.

Room was lovely and cleaned to a high standard. Everything you could think of was there at hand from the minibar, free toiletries and even some sky channels. Bed was really comfy, big fluffy quilt and pillows so you get a good night sleep. The rooms also offer some great views of the river.

We didn’t have dinner but had breakfast which was really nice. Everything well presented and really tasty. Also very reasonably priced and the service is 5*.

If you are traveling to this great city I would highly recommend booking this hotel. You certainly get what you pay for and more.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank cuttzy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear cuttzy84,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It’s a pleasure to read your comments following your recent stay. I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to our team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle again soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

This hotel delivers! We stayed on a Sunday night to attend a gig at the Sage, a mere walk over the bridge. Car parking is very conveniently located behind the hotel and at a rock bottom rate, the view from our room was stunning and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The only comment I will make .. the room service menu was very sparse with what was on offer and also about to stop serving, I rang at 10.20pm on a Sunday which is not overly late when returning from an event.

Room Tip: River view overlooking the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Wendy T,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It’s lovely to read that you’ve had a great time with us before the gig at the Sage. We are very lucky with the views from our rooms.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle again soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Fantastic hotel! My husband and I stayed for one night. All staff were courteous and the staff in the restaurant are very attentive without being intrusive (served by two guys both called Callum I believe). Continental breakfast included in our room price, one of the waiters saw I was running out of milk for my coffee and before I could even put the empty jar down a full one was placed on the table!

The food in the brasserie was superb serving a selection catering for most tastes. We had a millennium bridge view room. Luxurious and spacious with a double window aspect, very clean with comfortable beds. Room 403 on the 4th floor. No street noise at all.

Overall a lovely experience, we will definitely book again if we find ourselves in Newcastle and will probably try one of their other hotels too.

The only very minor issues I could find were low lighting in the room and we couldn’t book ahead as we wanted only 1 night, their website said 3 night stay minimum (in the middle of the week?) As the days went on it decreased to a 2 night minimum. We left it to the day before and as they haven’t filled the room it allowed us to book for a single night.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Geanie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Geanie84,

Thank you for taking the time to write your very positive review.

It’s lovely to read that you found our staff to be attentive and helpful. It’s also great to read that you found the brasserie food to be superb.

I’m so pleased that you enjoyed the views from your room and found the rooms to be very spacious, clean and comfortable.

I’m sorry to read that there was a restriction on booking another night, but i'm so glad that this was lifted and that you were able to stay with us for the 2nd night.

Thank you again for your complimentary review and we look forward to welcoming you to Malmaison Newcastle again soon.

King regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

One night stay whilst travelling in the North East with friends. The Sandgate car park where Malmaison have reserved parking proved to be just opposite the hotel. I have stayed in a Malmaison previously so was used to the quirky styling of the brand. My three fellow travellers soon commented, positively, on the styling. Both couples had picked river view rooms and we were all impressed with both the rooms and the view they offered. Must comment on the comfort and quality of the beds and pillows...great nights sleep. Good breakfast served by some of the friendliest and characterful staff I have ever encountered in a hotel. Great stay. Happy to recommend and will certainly stay again if spending time in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Selebian2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Selebian2014,

Thank-you for taking the time to write your review.

It’s lovely to read that you and your friends had such a great time with us recently. I will be sure you pass your comments on to our team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle on your next visit and once again thank you for your positive comments.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.6 km away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,172 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,335 reviews
1.4 km away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,434 reviews
3.2 km away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,186 reviews
1 km away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Newcastle

Address: Newcastle Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: €91 - €238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fog on the Tyne? Let's hope not. Otherwise you'll miss the great view of the Tyne Bridge you get from our hotel in Newcastle city centre. But then, when you're staying at Malmaison Newcastle, it's the views on the inside that tell you your boat's come in. While you're right at the heart of Newcastle's great shops and exciting nightlife, the lure of MALBAR's legendary cocktails and the Mal Brasserie's classic dishes with a twist is pretty strong. And who wants to spend all night out on the town when one hotel in Newcastle has a whole floor with a shipbuilding theme and bathtubs you could sink a battleship in? It could only be the Newcastle Mal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Upon Tyne
Malmaison Newcastle Hotel Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing