We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
268
202
70
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
202
70
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room an italian restaurant west jesmond jesmond area city centre limited parking on arrival lovely hotel pubs and restaurants good size stayed here for nights hotel restaurant visiting newcastle would highly recommend this hotel full english kippers breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 585 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We have just stayed at this hotel again and once again it didn't dissapoint. From the warm welcome to the spotless room to the fantastic breakfast everything was spot on and the staff couldn't do enough to help. Will definately be staying here again next time we will be visiting Newcastle.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Senior Receptionist at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Ian,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with great feedback following your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay. We really do try our best to go above and beyond for our guests so this is lovely to hear.
Please do not forget to book direct with us next time for a discounted rate and a chance to collect points with our loyalty card scheme.

Kind Regards,
Laura-Ann Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We travelled up from Brighton, 7hrs in car with all the traffic. We were booked in with another hotel (if you can even call it that) and was disgusted with it, so we left and found this little gem! Laura-Ann in reception was so lovely and so helpful! And really made us feel welcome! The room was lovely and even though we was at the front of the hotel, we didn’t hear any noise from downstairs and we slept like babies! Thank you very much :) we will defo come back and stay here again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Becca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Senior Receptionist at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Hi Becca,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with great feedback. Thank you for your lovely words regarding myself, I am thrilled to hear that I was able to help and turn your trip to Newcastle which started unpleasant into a pleasant and comfortable trip.

We look forward to seeing you and your partner back here with us at The New Northumbria so please do not forget to book direct with us for a discounted rate. Please email me on laura-ann@thenewnorthumbriahotel.co.uk when you are thinking of staying with us.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,
Laura-Ann Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Staff so helpful. They even went out shopping to get some soya milk for my morning coffee. Great range of breakfasts. I opted for smoked salmon and poached eggs, my friend had the spicy meat and refried beans option, but they do more traditional stuff too. Only negative was it was noisy on Saturday night with people coming in at all hours, so be sure to ask for a quiet room.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scifi_ciderdrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Senior Receptionist at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with great feedback regarding staff and your breakfast experience. I am happy that we were able to go above and beyond to accommodate your request. I shall be passing your comments onto the breakfast staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Laura-Ann Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the begining of August. We were put in a room at the back of the hotel which overlooked the emergency exit but it was quiet. I expect it could get quite noisy at the front.
The room was a but dark, no central light and very dark wood furniture but the beds were comfy and it was clean.
It's in a great location, although parking is very limited.
Highlight was the breakfast in el.paso. it was absolutely delicious.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Senior Receptionist at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Helen,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback, we really appreciate it! We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Next time you stay with us please ensure you contact us before your arrival to request a spacious room with plenty of natural daylight.
Thank you for your excellent feedback regarding breakfast. We have recently just been awarded a breakfast award by Visit England which we are extremely proud off. I shall pass your comments onto the chef.

Please do not forget to book direct with us for a discounted rate and a chance to collect points with our loyalty card scheme.

Kind Regards,
Laura-Ann Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Good lively location, which made it loud at night, room not particularly clean, a previous guests sock under the coffee table, I would not stay there again, staff all very friendly, convenient for the centre of Newcastle

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MarkT5710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Senior Receptionist at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We appreciate all kinds of feedback, good and bad in order to help us improve.
I am deeply sorry that on this occasion you did not receive our professional awarded cleanliness standard. I shall be passing this onto the Head Housekeeper to investigate further.
Thank you for your kind words regarding all staff being friendly. We really try our best to make sure everyone's stay is pleasant. If you are staying in the area again, please could you email me direct on laura-ann@thenewnorthumbriahotel.co.uk as we would love you to come back and experience the standard of hotel cleanliness which is maintained at all times and we promise to look after you.

Kind Regards,
Laura-Ann Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews