We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one downfall”
Review of Jesmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jesmond Hotel
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed here for one night as we were watching Arctic Monkeys at the Metro Arena.
Our first impressions were excellent, clean and well presented reception area and friendly staff.
Our room number 23 was at the front of the building, it was well presented and larger than expected. A little tired but comfortable.
My only problem with the room was that there were NO curtains. This was not a problem until the sun came up and light streamed through the blinds at 6.30 am. Had to place t shirt over my head until i thought it was time i got up.
Like i said this was my only issue with the hotel and room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

I recently stayed for one night at this hotel as I was visiting friends in the locality. First impressions are imperative for any stay and people often forget that the first experience you have of a place is the telepone manner of the receptionist - many places I have phoned are too busy to speak to you or just plain rude - however the telephone manner of the girl at this hotel was polite and very friendly

The rooms were cosy and warm with lost of space. The beds were very comfortable and I enjoyed a lovely nights sleep.

The restaurant / brasserie was advertised as "unpretencious" and this was certainly the case. The food was excellent and you got a good hearty plate! The service was excellent and friendly. There was a wide range of food and wine - but not too much as to be overbearing - some restaurants have page upon page of choices which can be rather annoying.

A definate keeper for next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedthewonderhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My room was spotless and had modern decor and fixtures. The bed was extremely comfortable, firm without being excessively hard. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and breakfast was abundant and quite reasonably priced (£5). I encountered only two things I'd change: (1) The wireless signal doesn't reach to the top floor, which means I couldn't go online from my room. (This would prevent me from staying here again.) (2) The bed has only a duvet (note to fellow Americans: that's a comforter) for a cover, and it really needs a sheet as well, for when nights are warm enough that you don't want the warmth of a duvet. The staff brought me something lighter, but it turned out to be a duvet cover and so was thicker than a sheet.

Room Tip: If you need wifi, get a room with a number in the 20s. It doesn't reach to the rooms in the 30s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed at the Jesmond Hotel 25th Sept for 2 nights. I have stayed in a few hotels in Newcastle, where my son is at uni, and I would say that this was the best so far.The staff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.The breakfast was very good and at only £5 a head really good value. Although the rooms were small they were very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook Osbourne road can be noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We spent around 7 days at the Jesmond Hotel which is in the Cocktail Belt in Osborne Road in genteel Jesmond and enjoyed every minute there! The staff were most obliging and we were very well looked after right down to a temporary residents parking pass for the car. Breakfast was really first class and - unusual these days - was cooked to order with a full programm or just a simple double bacon sandwhich with a good portion of ketchup if required! There is a bus stop for getting into the swinging city / quayside area of Newcastle if the ample nearby bars etc are not lively enough! And not far from Avantis - a really great Italian ristorante in the area - but book a table if you are going there!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank speedbird16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
563 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
862 reviews
1.1 km away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2.1 km away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,570 reviews
2.3 km away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Hotel

Address: 34 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: €56 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jesmond Hotel, a small hotel near Newcastle Upon Tyne with a personal touch. Whether for business or pleasure, our central location with its welcoming and relaxed atmosphere is perfect for visitors to Newcastle & Gateshead as well as the wider region. We pride ourselves on excellent customer care, giving individual attention to all of our guests and ensuring a very high standard of service throughout the hotel. The Jesmond Hotel is a small private hotel with 15 rooms and a welcoming lounge bar. The hotel is situated in leafy Jesmond, with excellent transport links to nearby Newcastle city centre and within walking distance of the shops, bars and restaurants of this elegant suburb. The hotel is staffed 24 hours a day and our bar is open until midnight if guests require. Free parking is available on a first come first serve basis (Permits given on check-in) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jesmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing