We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
38
31
19
22
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
31
19
22
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stag doo brilliant weekend will defo be back freeman hospital bars and restaurants city centre location is brilliant stayed for nights waitrose toon plumbing taxis
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

There is so much wrong with this hotel it is difficult to know where to start.... Entrance to the property is though the Jam Jar & into reception area which is pretty shabby, dark & dingy & right next to the kitchen. Greeted by pleasant member of staff.
We were in room 17 at the top of Hotel. Water tank must have been above us as we heard water running most of the night. Guests checking into rooms on the same floor sounded as if they were entering our room.
Room was a twin with a tiny bathroom, only toiletries supplied - a half empty bottle of hand soap on the wash hand basin. Shower was very dated, grout on floor tiles was black. Due to lack of ventilation or extractor fan bathroom smelt damp.
Furniture in room is mismatched, very shabby & stained. No bedside lamp. If you want WiFi code you will need to go back to reception to ask for it.
Beds were disgusting- stained mattresses, stained mattress protector on one bed, wasn’t one on the other bed. Broken spring in mattress made for a very uncomfortable nights sleep. Duvet cover & pillow cases on one bed were inside out!!
In response to previous reviews management say the place is been renovated, we saw no evidence of this, place should be shut down.
Parking- 3 spaces at rear of Hotel. Check signs before you park on roads as most are permits until certain times.
£100 for twin room was a total ripoff.
£10 extra if you want to check in early. Breakfast is extra.
Despite our complaints no refund was offered.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sarasota21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ge0_87, Guest Relations Manager at The New George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi,

We are sorry to hear about your stay, we are currently working on renovating each room, as you can understand this will take a little time as the new management has only recently taking over, we do apologise that your room was not to the standard we want here at The New George and we hope in future these concerns will be rectified swiftly.
Unfortunately your stay did fall on a busy weekend, this included an Ed Sheeran concert, this did reflect in our prices.
Again we apologise for any matters raised.

Lee.
The New George Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Thankfully we only stayed here for 1 night.
Positives first- the staff we met were very nice, helpful & apologetic for the concerns we raised. And its only 5 min walk to the metro station for access to the city centre.
We stayed in a twin room on the top floor which was badly in need of updating all the furniture was chipped, scratched or stained. The walls were badly marked & chips of paint missing.The grout in the bathroom floor tiles was grotty & there was a damp smell due to the lack of ventilation.
Then came the beds - i got into bed to discover that the springs in the mattress were broken so had a ridge down the middle of the bed which made for a very uncomfortable night. On investigating the lumps in the bed i found a stained mattress topper covering an even more stained mattress, i checked the other bed which was just as bad.
Our room was very warm & faced the road & was above the outside seating area so leaving the window open was noisy.
The website does say limited parking this is only 3 spaces & the surrounding area is all permit holders only until 6pm.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 891michellemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ge0_87, Guest Relations Manager at The New George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi Michelle,

We are sorry to hear about the concerns you had when staying with us.
We are currently renovating the rooms and working from a room to room basis, as there is new management here now we are taking each feedback on board and trying to rectify any issues our guests have, this includes the beds, walls and decor.
Each room now has fans and currently working on a new heating system for better cooling and heating of rooms.
The car park is free but subject to availability, but we do have alternative free on street parking near by.
We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,

Lee.
The New George Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Hotel room was nothing like any if the pictures! Very small ,VERY VERY noisy . We were in room 4 which everyone in hotel had to pass going to there room. Along with the parties coming bk from night out we also Heard kitchen clearing up early hour's! Boiler was also above our room as made a noise all the time. Room/shower was very clean but dated, water was very temperamental also. Staff were ok and parking is very poor. We stayed last min as family member was rushed to freeman hospital. I would not recommend unless your here for a cheep weekend of late nights and drunkenness.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emz011283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ge0_87, General Manager at The New George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us, unfortunately the weekends here in Newcastle are the busiest times for us and we do accomodate stag / hen parties which may cause some noise, however our 24hr reception over the weekend, we try our very best to keep on top of noise levels from these parties so guests aren't disturbed. We have become aware of the shower being temperamental in room 4 and have since dealt with that reported issue. We value your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel was a lovely little find as I needed a 3 night stay at the last minute close to Freeman hospital. Staff very accommodating, room was clean and fresh and cleaned every morning to a high standard. Good night's sleep and would definitely check in again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank DawnI83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ge0_87, Manager at The New George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Hi Dawn, Thank you very much for your kind feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Here to spend time with my family. I have stayed in most of the local hotels over the years. This was the cleanest by far, even more so than far more expensive competition. Very welcoming staff. The bedding was so clean and comfy. Best night sleep. I

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ge0_87, General Manager at The New George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hi Teresa!,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our cleaners do their best at keeping the rooms as clean,
tidy and as comfortable as possible, i will pass this message onto staff and we hope to see you back in the future :)

Many thanks

Richard kadar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews