We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,209)
Filter reviews
1,209 results
Traveller rating
404
444
230
93
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
444
230
93
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marriott hotels race course exec lounge steam room leisure facilities leisure club city centre bus stop public areas pleasant stay saturday night room was spotless comfortable hotel standard room hotel is situated buffet style car park
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,209 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2018

I was staying for almost three months on a weekly basis (business trips) before it changed hands from Marriott to Grand Hotels group.

There is no difference in rooms even though you become a upgraded member after certain nights of stay.

Restaurant took long time to serve dinner.

Breakfast is good, lovely people offerign warm wlecome in the morning.

Date of stay: May 2018
1  Thank Suresh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceD1467, Executive Personal Assistant at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

The Gosforth Park team are totally committed to delivering the best possible service and we appreciate your noting that they are indeed 'lovely people'. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Faulty Towers at a 4 star hotel. We returned here for a racecourse package that we won at a previous event. Since that time the hotel has been bought by new owners and the results are very poor.

Friendly and efficient reception staff and nice leisure facilities

But

The worst breakfast I have ever seen at a hotel. Cold (supposed to be hot) buffet, stale pastries, dry cold cuts. It was awful.

The worst thing was how rude the dining room manager was. Arriving at 09:51 we were greeted by “ Yas do know that we close in a minute don’t ya”.

Hmmm. The place serves till 10:00. That’s 9 minutes and normally that means you can arrive at 09:59 and still get your breakfast. In any other 4 star hotel that is. When I put this to Ian, the alleged dining room manager, he responded that “he didn’t know, he hadn’t worked in any other hotels”. I’m sure he hasn’t. It shows.

The Duty manager was lovely and said she was embarrassed by her staff. So she should be. So should the owners.

The lights in the rooms don’t work properly. We had three rooms and there were six separate lights that didn’t work. The sink didn’t drain and the shower dripped all night. The toilet flush was loose and faulty and the hair drier was as effective as an asthmatic breathing through a bent straw.

The rooms are tired and dated but clean.

Barely a three star hotel and I’ve had better breakfasts is a service station. At least the hotel refunded the cost of the breakfast for which they should be afforded due credit.

There are lots of nice hotels in Newcastle. I won’t be coming back.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank DocDJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceD1467, Executive Personal Assistant at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Out of courtesy to guests who choose to arrive close to the breakfast closure time, our staff are instructed to advise that clearing of the breakfast offering will commence at 10.00am. Advising guests of this procedure allows the opportunity to collect items from both the hot and cold selections available. Our staff certainly meant no malice when carrying out this instruction and we were greatly concerned at how this information was perceived. The hotel team work extremely hard to provide a high standard of service but it does appear that on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Large gathering for a reunion. The hotel was welcoming, very friendly staff, who made the entire weekend a great success.
Room was well appointed, clean and quiet.
Buffet breakfast was very good, although with large numbers from different functions / groups staff were a bit overwhelmed.
Two dinners on consecutive evenings. Both were delicious and well presented.
Facilities are very good, location handy for business and leisure in the area.
Overall a great stay, would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceD1467, Executive Personal Assistant at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

We were grateful to have the opportunity to host your reunion event and were very pleased to learn that all went according to plan. The team are delighted to receive such positive feedback and we would like to thank you for your recommendation. We hope to have the opportunity to assist again at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Over a hundred of old boys and their wife's and partners spent a weekend here . Rooms were good and comfortable, breakfast was also excellent and given so many to feed the meals were also very good ,. Service and staff were efficient and helpful, would come again

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank merfyn_thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceD1467, Executive Personal Assistant at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

We were delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your visit and the reunion event. It is always our intention to make guests welcome and to meet their expectations and we were very pleased to learn that we had been able to achieve this for you and your colleagues. We would be delighted to see you again and hope that you have the opportunity to visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

i stayed here 29th Sept with my Grandson we were first patrons in the restaurant at 6.30 pm as my Grandson was very hungry after swimming i placed our order straight away two fillet steaks and a side of greens , at 7.15 we were still unfed while we watched other guest arrive and served starters and main course , i flagged a waitress asking where is Our food i was annoyed by this time what was supposed to be a special evening for myself and grandson , eventually two of the smallest steaks arrived with a side of raw chilled greens , what a utter waste of my money this place was with a rather arrogant waitress ,i should have got us a taxi out to eat in hindsight still fuming as this place is not exactly cheap prices .

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Peter10155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceD1467, Executive Personal Assistant at Grand Hotel Gosforth Park Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

We appreciate your taking the time to comment on your stay and it would appear that the service provided on this occasion fell short of our normal high standards. Our Restaurant and Bar Manager is taking the opportunity to use your feedback in order to ensure further training and improvements are put in place. It is disappointing that we failed to exhibit the friendly, professional service normal associated with the hotel but I hope apologies were extended on the night when the lapse was highlighted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews