We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy and full of drunks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Noisy and full of drunks”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel and had good impressions on arrival with a nice modern reception area. We were also pleased with our room which was large and clean. Although the children were sharing a double bed which we have not had to do in other Holiday Inns. However this was not a large problem.

We were a bit disappointed in the pool area. This is an unmanned health club. Changing rooms are tiny. The pool area was ok but had no jacuzzi.

We ate at the hotel restaurant that night and were pleased with the meal and the children's meal was also of a good quality.

The main problem was that this seemed like a base for hen/stag/ruby/party groups and the bar area was very noisy and quite intimadating as many people were very drunk before going into Newcastle. This problem continued when we returned to our room as we could hear a group doing what seemed like kareoke in the room above, preventing our children from sleeping. We also were woken at 4:30 am and kept awake by groups returning from Newcastle. In the rooms above people were shouting and singing and running up and down the corridor.

This continued on the Saturday night and I heard another couple complaining about vomit in the corridor at the foot of the stairs.

Although the bed was comfortable, I would be hesitant to return to this hotel as it felt as though it didn't cater to families.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location- not sure if there is one though
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lottiesmum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for your review and comments on your recent stay with us and I am sorry you had a disturbed night.
Our reception and duty management team are available during the night and are very quick to visit rooms if there are reports of any noise.
Furter, when revellers return to the hotel they are reminded that there are other guests and families staying and they are asked to be considerate when going to their rooms.
The night team also do regular floor patrols to listen out for excessive noise levels. All of our known groups are contacted prior to arrival however with internet bookings we can't always determine groups.
Newcastle's reputation for it's Nightlife is well reported and we do try our utmost to manage what in effect is bad guest behaviour.
Once again my apologies and thank you for your kind comments re dinner
kind regards
Norrie Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    325
    159
    61
    26
See reviews for
227
220
30
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I just stayed 1 night at the Holiday Inn, Newcastle. What strikes you first is that the hotel is only 2 storeys so there's a good chance you'll have to walk down miles of corridor to reach your room. Once in the room it can be described in one word - tired. The furniture is outdated, the walls needed re-covering and the bathroom is a dodgy shade of green. The hotel has the feel of an express motel with the reception and lobby being next to each other. The service though was good, the staff were helpful and attentive and quick to repsond to any queries. One major gripe was the lack of free wifi. Surely hotels that are lookingto attract today's modern client should be providing wifi!! At the Holiday Inn you can only get 30 minutes for free and then it only works in the lobby so checking emails and working from your room isn't a possibility.

Room Tip: Avoid the long walk and get a room near to the lobby or you'll be carrying your baggage along mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjmoorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us.
Great feedback on the team and service and I will pass that on - much appreciated.
Re Wi-Fi, as you say we have free 30 mins vouchers available in the bar, lounge area which are suitable for general email access. If anyone requires additional 30 min vouchers then reception do issue them free. Many hotel brands do charge for Wi-Fi as it is a cost to the hotel and it would have to be passed on in bedroom rates. If we passed this cost on to guests who did not use Wi-Fi it would be unfair. Swisscom, our internet provider, do offer a range of packages on line which would be worth looking when travelling often.
Thank you again for your review
kind regards
Norrie Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
446 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and was really impressed with the whole experience. I have stayed in may Holiday Inns and this is probably the best so far.
Room was clean and pleasant, a bit like a Holiday Inn Express if I am honest but had complimentry water, orange juice and Kit-Kats too.
I had a bar meal which was very good, the publc areas are really nice and comfortable.
Breakfast was good and the staff were really efficient and clearly well trained.
I will be back for sure if I come back to Newcastle

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newquaygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments and I am delighted we were able to look after you so well.
I will pass a copy to the team and such feedback is very much appreciated.
The kitchen and restaurant team will be particularly pleased.
The lounge area has had some refurbishment recently and we intend to carry this through into the restaurant and complete the bar early in the Summer.
Look forward to welcoming you back
kind regards
Norrie Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geordie in the Toon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I bought this for my daughter's birthday it said a "spa day with massage"for two. My daughter and her boyfriend went on 26/1/2012. This is what she said..... The swimming pool was so small you can only do a little bit of swimming, the gym was old and run down and extremely small, the robes "old and smelly" the massage ? was 20 mins by young just out of college girls, who don't really know what they are doing. (My daughter has been for a professional massage before so she knew what to expect) They had lunch which was ok, but she summed it up by saying, she had wasted her day it wasn't a good experience. I am now disappointed with Groupon for allowing this to be on their books. I will be complaining to them as well.

Room Tip: never used a room, wouldnt want to either !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyboopaloo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
"Beauty with Inn" operate the beauty facilities and are available on 0191 236 8504.
As the manager of the hotel I do meet with the Owners and I know they will take your feedback into consideration. The next promotion will be offered as treatment with free use of the pool and gym. As you say both gyms are small however we do limit numbers and there is usually equipment free to work on. I am told 1,600 people took advantage of this offer and the feedback on value for money has been very positive. Alison, the Owner, is very dedicated and would happily take any calls of concern. She has recently recruited more therapists and extended opening hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The Holiday Inn chain really needs to start revferbing its hotel chain.
Reception areas and breakfast areas are modern and clean, but when you enter the bedrooms its like stepping back to the 70's the furniture has seen better days and looks as it should be in a 2nd hand shop, paint marks are on the sides of furniture and beds where the room at some stage in its life had been redecorated.
The bathrooms are a mess brocken tiles mastic spread all over the place rusting towel rails and rotting doors!
NOT A PLACE TO RELAX IN!
The best thing about the hotel was its breakfast even if the staff are reluctant to get a pot of tea for you when they are having a chat with a work mate!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexMark1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_hinewcastle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you Mark for your posting.
In 2011 a refurbishment programme commenced with great improvements and feedback on Reception & The Ballroom. We have also completed some work in the bar area however this will be enhanced further with work taking place in the Restaurant/Bar/Coffee Shop during 2012.
In recent years we have added Executive Rooms to our bedroom choices and we will continue to refresh our bedrooms with our in house maintenance team.
kind regards
Norrie Oswald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
3.6 km away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
11.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
11.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
5.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park

Property: Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Address: Great North Road | Seaton Burn, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded 4 Stars in 2016 we are proud also to say that our leisure club has completed a full refurbishment and is ready for you to enjoy. News update that Wi-Fi is now Free. With 151 4 Star spacious bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom, Tea & Coffee making facilities, telephones, remote control flatscreen TV and hairdryer. Some rooms have walk-in showers. Should you require an even higher standard of comfort, the hotel has 40 Executive bedrooms offering an excellent range of luxuries to make your stay that bit more special. In April & May 2013 our lounge, restaurant, bar and toilets had a full refurbishment - check out our photos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing