We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Travelocity
Priceline
US$89
View deal
Expedia.comUS$95
Orbitz.com
HurbUS$99
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,529)
Filter reviews
2,530 results
Traveller rating
755
840
541
274
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
755
840
541
274
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the river club room afternoon tea fifth floor city centre bit dated car park sunday lunch hotel bar bars and restaurants lovely room stayed for one night tyne quayside newcastle wedding wetherspoons
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 2,530 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2021

Stayed for 2 nights in Newcastle and got a good deal on the hotel. Upon arrival staff were friendly. A few forms to fill in for Covid but I did not like the fact of completing my breakfast form for the next morning when checking in. Selection was decent - tea/coffee, cereal, toast, orange or apple juice (this is in a carton and not fresh) then standard English fry or continental. When being served Breakfast it was satisfactory - just standard but nothing to rant or rave about. Rooms were spotless and had everything needed for your stay. From the outside hotel could do with refurbishment and some parts of inside too it was good value for money. Also great views over the river Tyne. Plenty of parking also available at £10 per day. Hotel is in a perfect location for your stay in Newcastle.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donardb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken Ellington, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2021

Many thanks for your valued feedback, which is greatly appreciated. Breakfast service will hopefully be back to normal from 19 July, following the planned further lifting of COVID-19 restrictions. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2021 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and found the hotel to be really good value. The location is great, the views are good and the staff is really friendly and helpful. The room I was in was showing it’s age (especially the furniture and plug sockets), the bathroom was weirdly laid out, making it difficult to use the toilet without sitting at a 45 degree angle, and the lighting arrangements in the room in general could be better. The rain shower head however was one of the better ones i’ve used so far and there was enough water pressure (which i’ve often found lacking when rain shower heads are installed). The provided shampoo/shower gel bottles were decently sized as well. The train noise is noticeable, even with the windows shut, and I found the duvet a little bit too warm, but these are minor details. The in room breakfast was delivered on time and overall it’s a great hotel for short stays in my opinion, although with the lack of good air conditioning maybe not my first choice when it comes to the hotter days.

Room tip: The views of the river are nice, so a higher room is definitely a plus
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank fj412
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken Ellington, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2021

Many thanks for your valued feedback, which is greatly appreciated. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2021

First the good, great location right on the river and a easy walk into town, staff are very friendly and polite, rooms and public areas are clean very comfy beds and nice bar area, free parking if your a millennium club member which is brilliant.
Now the not so good, we booked a club room 508 and it was tired, both the room and bathroom need an upgrade, the furniture is dated and the the windows need to be cleaned regularly outside so you can enjoy the wonderful view of the river and maybe even replacing with double glazing as the metro can be very noisy, the bathroom was tatty with discoloured grouting and scratched bath panel, the shower is over a very shallow bath and the water took ages to drain, I reported this to reception and they said it would be sorted that day but unfortunately it was the same so we just put up with it.
Due to covid restrictions there wasn't a full breakfast service but it was OK if a bit limited on choice.
It's a real pity that the hotel hasn't been upgraded recently as its in a prime position and we really did enjoy our stay.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Z3420FNdawnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken Ellington, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2021

Many thanks for your valued feedback.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2021

Having booked a stay as a surprise for someone and used my credit card to make the booking. I called the hotel the day before to check all was well and in order and to make payment, they informed me my card details were on the system and payment would be taken on check in, obviously you don't want the cost to be seen being a gift.

However, upon check in this did not happen and the guest checking in was made to pay for his own surprise, bring told as he was not the card holder they could not charge the card held on the system.

As you can imagine i was extremely disappointed and annoyed that having checked all was in place the Birthday gift was ruined.

Having worked in the hotel industry i am shocked that a service like this can not be delivered by a chain of hotels this size, maybe that is the key, they are too big and have no personal service skills! I have booked many times for people before elsewhere and worked in the industry and know it can be provided.

I am sure if the guest had not turned up for his booking they would have had no problem charging my card without me being there, double standards!

Won't be using this chain of hotels again!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Service
Thank AndreaN1329
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken Ellington, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Sorry to read of your disappointing experience. The hotel is bound by mandatory financial regulations which limit the options available regarding credit card payment, with use normally being made of the Pure Payment system. The late nature of the request detailed in your review shortly prior to arrival made this unviable for the booking.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2021 via mobile

We were staying here for 5 nights. On arrival the hotrl was of decent size and the cleanliness of the hotel was top quality.
I rang up prior to this to state my arrival time as thehotel hadput on tea and coffee for my passengers shich i thought was a lovely added extra. Once all the passengers were handed there welcome packs including their room keys by the friendly and warm welcoming recepiton staff. It was off to park the coach which the hotel have facilities for on site parking, a gem when it comes to parking these things! Some hotels dont and you end up having to park 4 miles away!
The available lift or stairs which were to take me up to my room were used a fair few times during my visit.
Upon entering my room i thought i was given the wrong room, it was a double room overlooking the River Tyne. I couldnt believe my eyes! There was an en-suite to my left and a little further into the room a double bed, coffee and tea facilities with biscuits! To my right was a tv, mini fridge and a cupboard big enough to hide the suitcase in aswell.
The only thing id say was not of a high standard was the available plug sockets. But thats wasnt a big issue.
It was time for Dinner which was pre ordered upon arrival. The food here was michelin standard i honestly could not fault the food or service one bit. The staff worked tirelesly throughout the dinner. Especially under the circumstances of the high standard of covid precautiond taken to keep everyone safe.
Breakfast was the exact same high service. Pre ordering at night time so coming down anytime from 06:30 to 09:30 you were given the 5 star service.
One of my passengers took ill which involved a couple of days in hospital now before the ambulance arrived the hotel comforted the lady and her friend that she was staying with. Once she had been all cleared by the hospital the hotel actually paid for a taxi to bring her back to the hotel! Now if thats not 5 star i dont know what is.
All i can say from this point on is thankyou so much for a wonderful stay and i hope to be seeing you again.
From your friendly coach driver Joel

Room tip: On quite a busy street so try and avoid those going to work, school times as the road can be queued up. Make sure you go on the wonderful toon tours sightseeing bus!
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank TheWelshCoachDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken Ellington, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2021

Many thanks for your lovely feedback Joel. It was a pleasure to accommodate your group last week, and we greatly appreciate your positive comments on the key areas of your stay. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews