We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$65
PricelineUS$65
Hotels.comUS$65
travelup.comUS$104
eDreamsUS$65
Agoda.comUS$65
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,496)
Filter reviews
2,496 results
Traveller rating
744
827
537
270
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
744
827
537
270
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the river club room afternoon tea fifth floor city centre bit dated car park sunday lunch hotel bar bars and restaurants lovely room stayed for one night tyne quayside newcastle wedding wetherspoons
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,496 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2020 via mobile

Immaculate hotel, very friendly, efficient staff, especially Sam in the bar; friendly and accommodating on one of only 2 dared trips away throughout this awful time.
Thank you very much & we wish you all well x

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 985tinkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken Ellington, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2020

Many thanks for your valued feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and really appreciate your kind comments. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back once the next lockdown of the hospitality industry is behind us. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2020

We had a very pleasant stay here. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the room was lovely and big, with armchairs to sit and look out over the river. The bed was comfortable and the shower was very good.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank warranderjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken Ellington, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2020

Many thanks for your valued feedback. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the friendliness of the team, the comfort of your bedroom, and the hotel location. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated, and I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020

This experience was the perfect combination of great service, great value and top quality. We booked a Junior Suite and it was amazing - pure luxury. I let my son sleep in the King-sized bed as a special treat and I slept in the sofa-bed, which was really comfy as it was good quality. I was traveling to Newcastle for my son's medical clinic. As my son is extremely vulnerable to Covid, the hotel went out of their way to help us feel safe and secure, setting up a private dining area for us, overlooking the river. The room was excellent value and breakfast was delicious. Although dinner was expensive, it was a nice treat and we were given a free drinks voucher. Plenty of car parking spaces too, which took that stress away. Would definitely stay again. Special thank you to Ken and his team.

Room tip: Room 510 has side views to bridges as well as river views
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Emma662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken Ellington, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Many thanks for your great review. I'm delighted that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us this past weekend, with particular regard to the comfort of your bedroom, the COVID-19 safety measures in place, the quality of dinner and breakfast, the value for money, and the standard of guest service from the team. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated by myself and the team, and I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2020 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights for a 2 night deal . Hotel had all Covid precautions in place , screens , signage , distance/ direction markings and sanitizer stations as well as staff wearing masks at all times .

Hotel is well situated on the Quayside in the city centre , great for sightseeing and getting around the city , we had complementary parking in the adjacent car park and tickets validated on request . The staff on reception were always helpful and friendly as were all the staff ( food and beverage ) .

We booked a larger suite which was more spacious than your average room which when booked on a 3 for 2 night stay is great value . Room had a very large comfortable bed , seating area , dedicated office area and dining area . We had access to a small balcony which overlooked the river Tyne with good views of several of the cities bridges .

We were given complementary drinks vouchers for the bar , table service as per the rules . The breakfast was well organised having to make your choice the day before from a menu and we had one evening meal , a lamb stew which was tasty and filling .

The people of Newcastle are so friendly and the city a gem of the north , we will definitely visit again and return to the Copthorne !

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank enricodO9355WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken Ellington, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2020

Many thanks for your valued feedback. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, with particular regard to the COVID-19 safety measures in place, the hotel location, the comfort of your bedroom, the friendliness of the team, and the quality of food at breakfast and dinner. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated, and I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

The lobby area of this hotel is lovely and smart, you have a nice view of the river from the bar and the lady on reception was polite. However we found cleanliness of our room a bit of a let down. The shower head needed a simple wipe down to remove the soap scum and we were surprised that one the towels in our room was dirty too. The room itself was a bit dated with the bottom of the bath stained making it look mucky.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Swiz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken Ellington, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Thank you for your feedback, with your comments noted for review.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews