We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$75
Hotels.comUS$76
Expedia.comUS$76
HurbUS$79
eDreamsUS$75
travelup.comUS$114
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,496)
Filter reviews
2,496 results
Traveller rating
744
827
537
270
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
744
827
537
270
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the river club room afternoon tea fifth floor city centre bit dated car park sunday lunch hotel bar bars and restaurants lovely room stayed for one night tyne quayside newcastle wedding wetherspoons
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 2,496 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

The lobby area of this hotel is lovely and smart, you have a nice view of the river from the bar and the lady on reception was polite. However we found cleanliness of our room a bit of a let down. The shower head needed a simple wipe down to remove the soap scum and we were surprised that one the towels in our room was dirty too. The room itself was a bit dated with the bottom of the bath stained making it look mucky.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Swiz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken Ellington, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Thank you for your feedback, with your comments noted for review.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020

Overall the hotel was fine. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was good. We had a problem with the bath taps. Each time we asked for help someone was there very quickly, but the problem wasn't solved during our stay. The food was good but we were surprised at the arrangements for breakfast, particularly the paper cup for tea and coffee. If we can drink out of proper cups in the evening, why can't we in the morning?? However, I appreciate that because of Covid there were extra pressures on the staff.

Room tip: Great views.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUCMAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken Ellington, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2020

Many thanks for your valued feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020

Hotel was great, all the staff v friendly and helpful, it made our first trip to Newcastle so enjoyable.

The bed was super comfy, I especially recommend the room with its view of the river and the surrounding area. Newcastle was gorgeous!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank robertmccrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken Ellington, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2020

Many thanks for your valued feedback, which is greatly appreciated. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, during your first visit to Newcastle. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2020 via mobile

The staff and the location of this hotel are great. However everything else was very disappointing. The rooms were tired, the furniture damaged, the bed had a big dip in it, the bath was barely deeper than a tea tray and breakfast was really sub standard. We have stayed in other hotels that have managed to still provide a nice breakfast and a decent coffee in these unprecedented times. If you can serve a g&t in the bar, then surely you can serve a cup of coffee, rather than a packet of instant granules and a paper cup? I commend the staff for doing their best and everywhere was very clean. We had paid a bit more for this hotel as it was an important weekend for us, and unfortunately it wasn’t worth it.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank sarahm657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken Ellington, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2020

Sorry to read of your disappointment with your recent stay. In keeping with the national and local mandatory requirements for COVID-19 safety in the hospitality industry, breakfast is a combination of a safe sealed system with a plated hot option. Coffee is normally freshly ground bean to cup from a self-service facility, but this is clearly not viable at present. Bedroom feedback noted.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2020

Stayed here for two nights during the pandemic. All Covid protocols were very well adhered too and we felt very safe.
The hotel gave us free parking which was a bonus which we did not expect. The hotel is in a very good location right on the Quayside. The bedrooms were very large and had good amenities you would expect. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was well worked as you had to select your items the night before and what time you required. You were shown to your own table with your selected items by the staff who brought the extras to stop people walking around.
On the whole we had not concerns at all and give my credit to the way the hotel was run during these difficult times. We decided to support our hotel industry and still travel for this short visit as we need to keep this sector working and to show others it is still safe to travel within the locations you are allowed too. I

Room tip: River view is very nice
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christophergiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken Ellington, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2020

Many thanks for your valued feedback. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It's a challenging time for the hospitality industry, and your support and positive feedback are greatly appreciated by all the team here at the hotel. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Thanks again.
Best regards,
Ken Ellington, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews