We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Booking.com
US$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
ZenHotels.com
US$89
US$52
View deal
SAVE US$37
Hotels.comUS$62
PricelineUS$62
travelup.comUS$89
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,019)
Filter reviews
1,019 results
Traveller rating
427
378
137
46
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
427
378
137
46
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tgi fridays railway line shopping trip free breakfast budget hotel car park yogurt self service comfortable room one night stay member of staff metrocentre hie newcastle asda inns tyne
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,019 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2020 via mobile

Stayed in the summer holidays. Hotel was very reasonable and family room was fine for us and our two sons. Short drive (or 10 minute walk) to the metro centre. Breakfast was good, was doing take away due to Covid. Not a full breakfast but bacon or sausage baps to help start your day. Would recommend to anyone wanting a base while visiting Newcastle

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank DanHarness1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc Saad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2020

Dear Dan,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
We are happy you found the hotel up to standard and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Newcastle.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2020 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights while we were visiting a sick relative.
The reception staff were very friendly and informative. Things different as during a pandemic but the hotel had gone to great measures to keep everyone safe.
The first night housekeeping missed our room so when we returned for the evening our bed was unmade and same used towels, cups etc. I rang down to reception and the chap I spoke to was very apologetic. Within a few minutes he was at our door with a tray of fresh cups, glasses, tea, coffee etc and clean towels. He even thought to bring us a toilet roll. We were also offered a complimentary drink down at the bar, which we enjoyed. The mistake was handled very well, I felt that they really could not of done any more to put it right.
The room was clean, bed comfy and nice hot shower. Breakfast was grab and go or eat at the table if available, which they were. Everything pre packed and sealed for hygiene. The sausage or bacon baps were ready in bags and were warm and tasty.
The hotel is in a good location to get about. There is a KFC and TGI Fridays within walking distance. We went shopping to Metrocentre, easy few minutes drive as was the huge Asda.
Plenty of parking which was safe, secure and free unlike the other holiday inns we stay at frequently.
Overall a very good experience. Will definitely stay here next time we visit Gateshead.
Thank you to the staff who did a great job in these difficult times.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank FloridaAddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc Saad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2020

Hi FloridaAddicts.
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
Its disappointing to hear about your issues with housekeeping on your first night with us however we are glad that this situation was rectified timely and to your satisfaction.
We are very happy that you overall enjoyed your stay with us from our lovely comfortable warm beds to delicious express start breakfast and how our covid-19 measures made you feel safe and secure as this is always our main goal for all of our guests. The staff are all very thankful for your kind words and we hope we get to welcome you back soon.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020 via mobile

I stayed here with my family on a trip to drop my daughter at uni. The room and bathroom were very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was free, safe parking. Due to covid precautions, the free breakfast was grab and go, but was still very good. After picking up your choice of cereal, toast, bacon or sausage sandwich and tea/coffee/juice, you could choose to eat at the restaurant or take it back to your room. They even thoughtfully put the takeaway cereal into lidded bowls so you could take them to eat in your room.

The hotel is located near a mall and retail parks which include a large Asda and an Aldi, so you’re spoilt for choice shopping-wise

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mumm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc Saad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2020

Dear Mumm3,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for this amazing 5 star review.
We are happy you found the hotel up to standard and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast selection.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to visit your daughter.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2020

The staff were very helpful and were all wearing facemasks, more than l can say for some of the guests! I saw the manager on several occasions wiping down the handrail on the stairs. Floor is all marked out for social distancing and hand sanitising gel at several points.
We had a problem checking in as they could not find our reservation but was not a problem as they just booked us another room.
Breakfast is a "grab and go" which good enough for us and we had it in our room, selection of continental and hot sausage or bacon rolls.
Only one down side for me was the room was too hot and no aircon so difficult to get to sleep.

Room tip: We managed to get a family room at the same rate as a double, this was good as it gives you a sofa to sit on if you are eating in the room.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David-Grant34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc Saad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2020

Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
We are happy you thought the team was helpful and your issue was quickly sorted on check in. We are very happy to learn you felt safe while staying with us as it is our top priority to ensure the safety of our guests and our colleagues.
It is great to hear you have enjoyed our Grab n Go breakfast.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2020

The staff were friendly and professional. The bar was good and the restricted breakfast menu was fine. We slept well and enjoyed our stay. The walk to the main part of the Metro Centre longer than we anticipated but fine.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 589SimonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc Saad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2020

Dear Simon,

Thank you for taking the time to review our recent stay with us.
We are happy you found the hotel comfortable and enjoyed our drinks selection at the bar, our team prides itself in its friendliness and you finding everyone professional will make the team extremely happy.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews