We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveller rating
332
331
127
38
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
331
127
38
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstgi fridaysbeanshi expresssofa bedshopping tripthe breakfast areafree breakfastminute drivebus stopcar parkbudget hotelself serviceyogurtreception staffcomfortable roomnice staycoffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 859 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here the 28th of April with my partner and son for the Newcastle match. We arrived and the sofa bed wasn't made up for my son had to ask and when we arrived back after they had made the bed we realised they had taken the pillows off the double for the child bed and had to request more pillows..The noise all night is ridiculous. Half past 3 in the morning people are slamming doors.. dogs barking.. rooms to hot so opened window but traffic woke the family up. The shower was dirty.. disappointed as we have stayed in a few holidays inns before!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank gemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hi Gemma,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that your family room was not appropriately set for your arrival, I will ensure our standards for this are refreshed with our housekeeping department. It is always disappointing when disruptive noisy guests impact other guests staying with us, we will review our noise monitoring procedures.

Thanks,

Lynsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Staff friendly . Room clean. Nice and quiet. Good night's sleep . Breakfast lots to choose from . Good access to attractions around . Good parking around and places to eat near by. Fab area with lots to do will definitely be returning .

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank shirley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hi Shirley,
Thank you for choosing us as your hub for our Easter break, it is always great to hear when our guests have enjoyed the stay with us!
We do look forwra to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks,

Lynsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Paid £31 for this room and excellent stay. Good quality clean rooms and superb breakfast included in price. No hesitation in recommending. Staff freindly and helpful and plenty of free parking. We stayed for free with with our dog and there is good walking along the riverside paths adjacent to the hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hi Tim,

Thank you for the great feedback, we are delighted that you found our rooms to be good quality and that our tasty inclusive breakfast was a highlight during your stay.

We do hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Thanks,

Lynsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Sunday night stay for one night.
Good size room for solo without a single room supplement.
Decent enough breakfast. Excellent value for money all round.
Convenient for Metro Centre and motorway connections..

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Guest service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Gordon M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Metrocentre. We are trilled to see that you enjoyed your time here with us and that the room was of good size for your needs and that you found us great value for money. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards
Katie Taylor | Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

We booked this hotel as it was recommended by British Airways at the time we booked our flights to Newcastle and was a great price for our one night stay.
As we were on a morning flight we arrived somewhat before check in time but the very friendly receptionist (Lauren) said it was no problem and that a room was available.
The room was very clean and tidy, well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, an iron and although no air conditioning (well, it is Newcastle!), a decent fan. The bed was a standard double - a little smaller that we're used to but comfortable enough. The bathroom shower was OK but a bit feeble and the shower head leaked. For some reason, the water from the tap smelled strongly of sulphur and was very unpleasant to taste unless you let it run a few minutes, after which it was bearable.
Although there were quite a few large groups staying, we weren't disturbed at all and had a lovely night's sleep.
Breakfast is served between 7 - 10:30 on Sunday and was a well stocked buffet with something for everyone. There was a rather good 'build your own bap' section with soft floury baps, bacon and Cumberland sausages too. All included in the room price and a great bonus. There's even a selection of snacks and drinks available 24/7.
It's located on a little estate off a roundabout and has a TGI Friday, KFC and another restaurant/bar called the Skiff (I think) so there's plenty of options within walking distance. It's also a 12 minute walk along the riverbank to the gigantic MetroCentre for a day of shopping.

Checkout was quick and efficient and with our Uber on the way, we waited in the lobby until it arrived. All in all, a great hotel that offers everything you could need for a short stay at a great price and a fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank m1ngepiece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Guest service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear m1ngepiece,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn MetrcCentre. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time here with us and all in all you found us to be of good value with a fantastic breakfast. We are more than happy to give you an early check in where we can and i'm glad that on this occasion Lauren was able to get you straight in to start your weekend off. We are saddened to see that you did experience some issues with the room whilst you were here - I have handed these over to the maintenance team so these issues will soon be sorted. Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards
Katie Taylor | Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews