We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (880)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
345
338
127
39
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
338
127
39
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tgi fridays beans hi express sofa bed shopping trip the breakfast area free breakfast minute drive bus stop car park budget hotel self service yogurt reception staff comfortable room nice stay coffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 880 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here as it’s close to the Metro Centre where we’d planned to go on a shopping spree and it’s only a 10-15 drive into Newcastle city centre. The car park is free & the hotel is on the banks of the River Tyne & Derwent. The hotel itself looks fresh, modern and initial impressions are very pleasing. We received a very warm welcome from the staff but despite being too early for check in they kindly allowed us to store our luggage securely so we could go shopping in the nearby Metro Centre. The rooms are small but functional, clean and cosy. My only gripe is that the room was very stuffy and there’s no air conditioning but we were able to open a window a small amount to combat this. Our particular room only had double sized bed & an uncomfortable pull out sofa bed for our 10 year old son, (his words not ours).
Breakfast was complementary which offered a continental style buffet & a limited cooked breakfast selection.
I would like to say a particular thank you to Paul in the restaurant. Despite being absolutely rushed off his feet he took time to give us advice on things to do in Newcastle & even brought some sightseeing maps to our table.
Overall a pleasant stay but unfortunately for us the double sized bed was the dealbreaker here. Maybe some rooms with king sized beds would tempt us back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank FamilyGuy-196722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear FamilyGuy-196722,

Thank you for the fabulous review. Paul will be delighted with your kind comments. I am sorry you found our beds to be small, all of our rooms are the same size.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Great welcome and very friendly professional service all round. Clean comfortable room with great shower. Varied and tasty breakfast.. All this and at a very reasonable price.
Our first experience of Holiday Inn Express, and very satisfied. To avoid nearby road noise we kept windows closed but we're not overheated.

Room Tip: Not sure as I think all rooms are the same
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Jo,

Thank you for the brilliant feedback! It is always a delight to hear when our guests have enjoyed the stay, and we are thrilled that all areas were to your liking.

We do hope we get to welcome you again,

Thanks,

Lynsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Stayed on a Friday night, room was clean, comfortable & quiet, but far too hot! The duvet was too hot and there was not much air circulating, they had a fan but did not bother to use it as they just blow hot air around the room. I dread to imagine what its like in the summer as there is no air con. Breakfast was good, value for money excellent. Location good, parking good.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank charlie668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Charlie,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. Whilst we are pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be clean, comfortable and quiet we are sorry that you were disappointed with the fan provided. Our maintenance manager will investigate the functioning of the fan to ensure it is working as it should.

Kind Regards,

Lynsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Room was comfortable and spacious. Extremely good value for what we paid. Nice breakfast included also. Room was very warm so we slept with the window open our room was on a very busy road so it was a little noisey. This did not affect our stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank MissEvieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Hi Mrs Willo,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you found your time with us to be not only comfortable and enjoyable, but great value too!

Kind Regards,

Lynsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Very noisy room next to loud machinery. Noisy corridors too. No room service, no bath. Not very clean. Ginsters sandwiches available at £5 each. It's a shame because I've stayed in some very good Holiday Inns - this is not one of them.

Room Tip: Avoid room 204 - very noisy
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ptskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am sorry to read that your experience with us was not at the level we would expect. Our housekeeping team do endeavour to ensure that all of our rooms are cleaned to the highest standards, I will refresh our expectations with them to ensure this is the case.

Kind Regards,

Lynsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews