We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
15
31
35
29
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
31
35
29
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza express great north run a bit tired twin room waitrose metro
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Firstly, there is no free parking available, it basically a couple of spaces in the back lane and as all the nearby streets are permit only you have to park half a mile away and walk there.
Unfortunately that was the best bit!. Room 400, we were unable to use the bathroom due to the overpowering smell of sewerage.
The hotel are obviously aware as there numerous air freshers in the room trying to mask the smell. They didn’t succeed unfortunately. To compound there was ‘water’ dripping from the ceiling which by its odour I am assuming is from a toilet upstairs. Thankfully we were only staying there to attend a wedding so weren’t there that long but long enough. At £85 for a night it is an absolute rip off.
Oh yes, the empty wraps of cocaine littered along the corridors is a nice touch, this place should be closed down.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank stevenbell2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

This isn't a review as we never got to stay. On arrival there was nowhere to park. All the street parking nearby is residents permits. We got no refund on our room. I don't want others to get caught out.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

My daughter and I arrived at the hotel around 21:45 to be greeted by a very nice lady behind the reception who checked us in in no time. The twin room (402) was very nice with very comfortable beds. In the morning we were once again greeted very warmly by staff who made sure we had enough to eat of the very nice continental breakfast. This stay was a football trip and also visiting family. The cost for 1 night B&B was a very competitive £65, which we thought was tremendous value for money. Will definitely recommend to others.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gwynedd10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Osborne Road is a good location, close to the City and the Metro. Some lively hotel bars and a good selection of restaurants (try Branches ,it is superb). Having read the reviews I was not looking forward to staying here but I have to say that the room we stayed in had everything we needed,the bed was comfortable and the shower was excellent.All the staff we came into contact with were helpful and professional but the owners do need to spruce it up a bit especially the public areas. On the other hand it is 2 star,cheap (unless you stay during the Great North Run weekend) and you get a free continental breakfast.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LutonRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

It’s really an ok hotel. Yes it’s a bit tired but we found it clean and ok for our needs. Room was clean. Breakfast was as expected, parking can be a pain as limited spaces at hotel and restricted residents parking in side roads. Had Waitrose opposite and pizza express a couple of doors down. Ideal base for great north run as only 15 mins walk to start. We felt the price of 135 per night was excessive. It was a busy weekend. If we paid normal rate of around 50-60 per night then that would have been in keeping with value for money. Not a hotel to impress but just for a stop over or work night away then ok.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kerryA899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews