We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
Hotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
32
45
36
18
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
32
45
36
18
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre would stay again budget hotel water pressure location is ideal staff were really friendly staff on reception couple of nights double room stayed for one night newcastle concert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2020

· Yes this hotel is tired but the staff (Daniel) are great, nothing to much trouble, the rooms were clean, beds really comfortable, nice white clean sheets, as were the towels, shower old but good water pressure and hot. The location is ideal right near the centre.

The only issue we had was the tv has limited channels.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sweet-pea-bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2020

I stayed there for two nights. There was a double room and a bathroom and toilet which were all very clean. The only thing that I did not like was the fact that there was not good lighting in the room. There was a desk lamp and a tiny roof lighting as a result you could barely see clearly if it was night.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ElpaChPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2020

Hotel is very run down. We had no Ac, tv didn’t work correctly, no hot water at all, no access to WiFi or provided with information to get WiFi. Room was not in the best condition, hole which had been poorly filled in on bathroom door, tiles in the bathroom cracked.

The hotel is in a good central location however hotel needs serious TLC, appreciate the rooms aren’t exactly expensive but hotel could be much better

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Raromh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2020

Arrived on Valentines day weekend. Booked the king room. Arrived to a very run down hotel. Got in to our room to find a big brown mark on the toilet seat, mould in the shower and hairs all over the floor walls and shower. Went to get in to bed to then find bugs in our bed. Was given another room (their “last” room a twin room). Bathroom was just as grim but no bugs in bed so stayed. Lift takes around 10 mins to arrive so if you’re unfortunate enough to be on the 6th floor stairs is less time consuming. Was promised a refund once we left and would be with us in 5 working days, now August 3rd and no refund, been told since March it is with HR processing, then used covid as a reason why we still have no refund, and that they are processing lots of refunds so will take longer!! Our stay was before lockdown! Do not pay until you see the room you are getting because almost impossible to get a refund!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2020 via mobile

I stayed here 2 years ago and enjoyed my stay but the last 2 days have been much different. There was no hot water only warm at times which during Coronavirus I think is illegal and worrying the effect this is having on other guests. The rooms are full of damp and smell bad and hadn’t been cleaned as my feet were dirty walking on the floors and there was hair all in the bath and other dirt. I even pulled back the duvet to find old Egg yolk stuck to the duvet cover. The beds are really uncomfortable. I was meant to stay for 2 nights but checked out after 1 night as couldn’t stand another night with the smell in the room and with coronavirus the place is not safe.

The girl working behind reception is the only positive she was really friendly and dealt with a few complaints from other guests. She is an asset to the hotel.

This hotel shouldn’t be open during Coronavirus when they are not providing basic hot water.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Ac170380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at The New Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and thank you for choosing us again, it's always nice to have return guests!!
I'll have to disagree with you as i don't believe the rooms are full of damp and smell bad, and i'm surprised by the dirty floor and hair as our rooms are cleaned and then inspected before use. I will certainly be raising your comments with our Housekeeping manager for her to investigate. I'm not sure how an egg yolk would've made its way into the bed, but again i'll discus this with housekeeping. Had we been made aware of this at the time we would have rectified it immediately.
I'm disappointed you found our beds uncomfortable, quite the contrary to our last review, but each guest has their own preference.
We did experience a couple of hours without hot water on one of the mornings during your stay. This was due to a broken pump, something that could happen at home, and totally out of our control, but it was fixed within a couple of hours and we kept the disruption to a minimum.
We have worked extremely hard to prepare the hotel and to maintain being Covid-19 safe, so i am most disappointed and must disagree with your comments regarding us not being a safe place.
Thank you for the kind words about the receptionist, i will ensure your comments are passed on. I do hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews