We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough, very good service ”
Review of The Purple Bear

The Purple Bear
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Description: Years working in bars - and even longer visiting them - made us want to do it ourselves, focusing on everything we love about this industry: Great drinks, tasty food and BBQ. With that in mind, we cook low and slow BBQ everyday. To keep our quality the highest, we make limited amounts. So when it's gone, it's gone... 'til the next day!
Restaurant details
Description: Years working in bars - and even longer visiting them - made us want to do it ourselves, focusing on everything we love about this industry: Great drinks, tasty food and BBQ. With that in mind, we cook low and slow BBQ everyday. To keep our quality the highest, we make limited amounts. So when it's gone, it's gone... 'til the next day!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited The Purple Bear for a spot of breakfast this morning. Nice ambiance, and very good service. I had the “Yankee Breakfast” which was decent quality enough, though at £7.50 you didn’t seem to get a lot for your money. It wasn’t a small breakfast by any standards, but neither was it large.

Better quality perhaps than a similar meal at Frankie and Bennies, but quite better service. That said, it was absolutely dead when I went in, so pretty much only customer for waitress.

Breakfast served 10-12 apparently

Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, Owner at The Purple Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the review. The feedback is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had the beef shoulder in a bun with fries which was absolutely tasteless. It sounded so nice too, slow cooked smoked beef shoulder in bbq sauce but it had no flavour. My husband ordered the grizzly burger which had a really strange taste so I’m not sure whose was worse. He also upgraded to the truffle and cheese fries but they were just soaked in a pool of oil that had accumulated in the bowl they were in, so he couldn’t eat most of them. The spicy chicken wings were ok. Definitely won’t be going back.

Thank Camper753845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, Owner at The Purple Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Make there food out to be more than something it is not, not value for money, waiting staff are lovely and helpful tho xx

Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, Owner at The Purple Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sorry you feel that way Sarah. I’d be grateful if you could give me some details on your visit so I can figure out what you did t enjoy about your visit. If you can do that then please email it to roar@thepurplebear.co.uk
Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Great food great drinks great atmosphere fast and friendly service, will be coming here regularly!!!

Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, Owner at The Purple Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Mark. The review is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Ordered the Feast for a Bear and wasn't disappointed.
Everything was delicious but I've never had such soft and delicious ribs. It was so soft in fact, that the meat was practically falling of the bone!
Fantastic!

Thank Ignas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, Owner at The Purple Bear, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Awesome, thank you. We take pride in the ribs here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Purple Bear also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Purple Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing