We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$117
US$100
View deal
Hotels.comUS$111
Agoda.comUS$100
Expedia.comUS$111
PricelineUS$100
eDreamsUS$100
StayForLongUS$117
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
192
64
13
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
192
64
13
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster continental breakfast shared bathroom built in wardrobes ensuite room fresh toast tea and coffee comfortable bed visiting newcastle stayed for one night excellent value for money
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2020

My en-suite room in the main building was beautiful, huge and really clean. The bed was enormous and comfortable and tea and coffee came with biscuits and a chocolate. The historical building is furnished in a splendidly quirky style, with fairly extensive gardens so my room had a lovely garden view. Guest parking is free and a generous continental breakfast is provided in the room price. A restaurant with a bar is a few minutes walk away and a pub that serves food is about 15mins walk away. Hedgefield House is quite a gem, excellent value for money and I will definitely return.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gingerh600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedgefield House, Other at Hedgefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2020

Thank you so much for your kind review. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2019

Wow what a great find by my husband, we arrived quite late in the evening and were very surprised how lovely this place is. David the owner was very welcoming and showed us to our room. The room was superb could not fault it. The shared bathroom was spotless. We stayed for one night and felt really spoilt specially for 5he price we paid. Breakfast was super, fresh toast, fruit, yogurt really lovely dinning area. Best of all was all the fantastic Christmas decorations which made it feel super cozy.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topcruiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedgefield H, Owner at Hedgefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Thank you so much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2019 via mobile

Chose this hotel because it was a few miles outside Newcastle (4.5 miles, just 15 mins).

As soon as you arrive through the large electric gates and drive up through the trees you already know you are in for something special.

As soon as you walk in you feel relaxed, receive a very warm welcome and shown up to the room. I was in Room 5, the Four Poster Suite (upgraded and definitely one I'll book when I return with Mrs B). The room is HUGE and as stated by previous reviews, very elegant with probably around a dozen built in wardrobes, dressing room and a bathroom with a bath that could easily accommodate two people, although it did also have a shower. The room itself was tastefully decorated, very comfortable and as I said more than enough space.

There is a continental breakfast with an array of fresh fruit, yogurts and cereals with the offer of additional toast and coffee as soon as you walk in.

Because of the weather I did not have the chance to venture outside into what appeared to be beautiful gardens and wooded area and from I could see, the walled garden would be a great place to sit outside in the summer with a drink.

I could go on and on about this place but this and the previous reviews clearly show that the place, the people and the overall ambience makes this a perfect place to stay if you are visiting Newcastle and the surrounding areas (that is, if you can manage to drag yourself out of the very comfortable bed, and get passed the beautiful surroundings!)

Very few times do I get home after a few nights away on business actually feeling relaxed and refreshed, thank you Hedgefield House, next time I'm up that way, you're certainly first on the places to book.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 294tonyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedgefield H, Owner at Hedgefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2019

Thank you so much for your very kind review. So galad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2019 via mobile

What an absolute gem great decor surroundings and grounds was welcomed by David the owner the place is draped in history and for the price the accommodation does not disappoint very clean bright and modern would defo stay hear again in two words SPOT ON !!!!!!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank X8489NDdanielw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedgefield H, Owner at Hedgefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2019

Thanks so much for your very positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2019 via mobile

This location was awesome!! The team here were very accommodating and friendly. My partner and I stayed her whilst on route to Scotland as it was the midpoint of the country and did the same on the way home. Room 5 was a room for Kings and Queens. Huge bathtub lovely shower, spacious room etc. I’m. It sure what that last reviewer was complaining about but the temperature in this place is great and the staff could. It be any friendlier. If we are back up this way I will defo be staying here! Thanks guys!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dylana334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedgefield H, Owner at Hedgefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2019

Thank you so much for your very kind and honest review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews