We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/21
Hotels.com
US$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$125
eDreamsUS$125
TripadvisorUS$125
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,391)
Filter reviews
1,391 results
Traveller rating
891
331
107
39
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
891
331
107
39
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roll top bath monsoon shower free standing bath mezzanine level mezzanine bathroom chateaubriand huge shower sister hotel amazing room wedding night lovely hotel sunday lunch city centre deluxe room mini bar birthday treat an upgrade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,391 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2020

We stayed here in August as we decided to travel around the UK rather than head abroad as we normally do. I have stayed here several times before, and have reviewed it in 2014, however with Covid 19 causing us all problems I am reviewing it again. As always with this hotel, everything from check in to check out was perfect. We arrived well before the check in time of 3pm and were greeted by Andy the GM, who informed us that our suite was not yet ready, but he would happily look after our luggage, while we went shopping. We returned at 1.30pm and were informed it was nearly ready, so we had a quick drink at the bar and were in our room at 1.50pm, to find it spotlessly clean and sanitised, there was a personalised instruction letter detailing actions that had been taken due to covid and advice what to do going forward. My wife had been nervous about using hotels during these troubling times, but she was completely at ease here. We had dinner out so I cannot comment on dinner in the hotel, but breakfast was exceptional, social distancing and a one way system in operation, obviously the continental buffet was not in use, but you just informed the waiter behind the counter what you wanted and it was brought to the table, where our order for cooked breakfast was then take. We stayed in other HDV during our trip, but none of them compared to the standard and organisation of breakfast here. We would like to thank Andy and all his team for a superb stay, it is the best Hotel in Newcastle by a country mile.

Room tip: Suites are worth the extra money
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bigjimBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew Shiel-Redfern, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2020

Good morning

What a wonderful review. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review. I’m delighted we could help and made your stay a memorable one.

Look forward to see you again.

Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2020 via mobile

The Du Vin Newcastle is a rare venue with a huge degree of style and substance. From the best views of the city to the sun trap of a outside area you can’t go wrong.
I stayed for work and I couldn’t wish for a better service especially given the current parameters regarding Covid.
I was greeted by GM Andy who’s attention to detail is 2nd to none.
Durning my stay her was always around working away in every department never letting a moment pass without acknowledging myself and checking to see how I was and if I needed anything.
It’s this type of attention you can’t teach and is clearly an example to the rest of his great team.
Best hotel in Newcastle
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank christianoc282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Marshall, Other at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2020

Dear christianoc282,

Thank-you for taking the time to write your review.

It is great to read that you had such a lovely visit. Andy will be thrilled to read your kind words.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2020 via mobile

Last minute idea to have 24hrs in stylish surroundings whilst receiving first class service in the bar and restaurant at the Hotel du vin.
Speedy and warm welcome when checking in, lovely welcoming touches in the room. The rooms are large and elegantly furnished with a feature bath in the middle of the room. We opted to eat in the hotel beautiful rib eye steaks cooked to perfection followed by a lovely crepe brûlée all served by the lovely Ella who was very attentive and funny. The bar has been raised staying again here and I wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Newcastle would highly recommend many thanks Fiona Barwick.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FIONA498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise Gregson, Other at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2020

Thank you so much for your review, we are pleased you had a wonderful stay with us.

I will pass on your comments to the team :)

Stay safe and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2020 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel a few month ago and the service was fantastic bearing in mind the COVID situation, I really enjoyed the hotel bar which was good priced beading mind a hotel.

The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfy will definitely be staying again sometime!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tazah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise Gregson, Other at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2020

Thank you for your review,

We’re pleased you had a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night for a little night away before lockdown restarts. We were supposed to go up midweek but we couldn’t go unfortunately due to illness. This was no problem for the hotel and their excellent management and staff and it was quickly rearranged for Saturday!!

The hotel itself, and rooms are lovely and absolutely spotless with cleanliness top of their priority list!

We also had dinner in the Bistro on the evening and breakfast the morning after. Both meals were gorgeous and the staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly Luke!

Would highly recommend and we can’t wait to go back!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank m_garmston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise Gregson, Other at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2020

Thank you so much for your review, so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Regards

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews