We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, location and excellent staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
SURREY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, location and excellent staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We (in separate rooms) stayed here the night before our wedding (got married in a nearby village) and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel and the service we received. There is rooms in many styles and some nicer than other of course. My room (four poster room) was lovely. Booked this room so that we would have plenty of space on the morning of our wedding to get ready with my bridesmaids. There was plenty of space. Had an iron, a dressing table, sofa and armchairs in the room.
My parent’s room was amazing. King-size bed and a modern bathroom. They loved it!! We all did! Everyone was pleased with their rooms. My family and friends from abroad could not have been happier with the service they received as well, (we had about 15 rooms booked in total and no one had anything to complain about). The children (and adults) enjoyed the pool and sauna.
The breakfast was great (they even opened it earlier for us as we had to start getting ready very early) and this was very much appreciated. Chris the manager was fantastic and made sure everything run smoothly. A big thank you to him and his staff!! The small touches, like bringing us an ice bucket for our champagne and asking if there is anything we needed throughout our stay made my and everyone’s stay great!
On the morning of our wedding they made sure we had everything we needed. They even helped us to arrange my exit (some last minute guests were still in the lobby and they made sure we were ushered in to a small study to avoid being seen). I would very much recommend this hotel if you want professional and personal service before that special event. ..or just for a weekend break. We booked a table for 12 people on the night before the wedding and did not have to wait long to receive food. They have a set menu and I think a 2-course meal cost just below £10 –excellent value!
There is a pub in the hotel and many of our guests enjoyed drinks there in the evenings. The hotel is in the centre of Haslemere and there are plenty of cafes and shops next door. There is a lovely sweet shop (old style) opposite to the hotel -make sure you visit it!!!
My 5 star rating is due to the staff and everything they did to ensure we had a very pleasant and stress free stay. Some rooms are basic (still nice and no complaints) but if you want a nicer/newer room just book one of the better rooms with slightly higher price. The room rates are very reasonable so not sure why some people have complained here–pay an extra £10 and you will definitely not be disappointed.
Many thanks again Chris and the team for making my stay so lovely! We will definitely stay again when we next visit Haslemere.

Room Tip: Book a superior or four poster room for a small additional cost!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIKKIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    151
    96
    62
    41
See reviews for
94
177
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I booked this hotel as a spa break with my friend which included a nights stay in the hotel, use the spa and breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The room was of ample size and the shower was very good, however the room wasn't very clean - especially the toilet.

I think it was unfortunate that the hotel decided to market the stay as a spa break. The facilities were disapointing - the spa wasn't working and this is quite common according to a local who regularly used the facilities. Also, there was very little room to sit and relax. Most disapointing was the way the staff at the spa treated us when we arrived. They whispered and went away and made phone calls to find out if we were allowed to have a towel! This didn't make us feel very special.

Overall the service was average. At lunch due to anothe function there was only one table to sit at. it wasn't laid for lunch and no one brought us a menu. Dinner was similarily slow. We had an allocation of money to spend on our deal but gave up on desert as we knew it would take too long. Having said that the food, when it did arrive was ok.

As a place in stay for a night this hotel might be ok, but don't get excited about the spa facilities. wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squeaky35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Haslemere hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is right in the centre of Haslemere and offers a complimentary car park for its guests. Our room was quiet, good size, well equiped and clean. The shower was very good. We were on a room only rate so didn't eat there or use the bar. It was literally a room for the night and it did what it said on the tin. No frills - but very acceptable for the price we paid for the night (less than fifty pounds). I would say this hotel was above average, but not quite 'very good'.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandTBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldwick Bognor
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a 2 day spa break at this hotel. It was really good value for money. The Food was lovely, Breakfast offered a variety of cooked and continental choices and 3 course meals for lunch and dinner. The staff were really helpful and polite, the facilities we used on our break were fine. The hotel is in a perfect location of Haselmere town and within easy walking distance to a few restaurants, pubs and shopping. Its a small town but was adequate for our break. Hotel has free parking which was a bonus. Our room was good enough for our stay, we had tea & coffee facilites and it was simply furnished. Our bathroom was a little tired in areas but overall was clean. The hotel just needed a little revamp in areas because everything else was lovely. The carpets in corridors were slightly worn and there were some stained chairs in restaurant. Through personal preffence my friend and I preferred softer beds as the the twin room we stayed in had quite firm matresses firm causing backaches. We would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fruity2741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We held our wedding reception here in March 2012. The hotel and their staff couldn't be more helpful, nothing was overlooked and anything we asked for was done quickly and professionally. We stayed in the honeymoon room which was gorgeous and many of our guests stayed in the other lovely rooms in the hotel. I had a massage in the spa which was very nice and several of our guests used the excellent pool and gym. The food was great and the bar stayed open as late as the guests were still up. I'd highly recommend this hotel, especially if you are holding a special event.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
2.0 km away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
9.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
3.1 km away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
15.3 km away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
5.5 km away
Grayshott Health Spa
Grayshott Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: High Street, Haslemere GU27 2JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — The Georgian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the charming market town of Haslemere and perfectly placed on the pretty High Street, The Georgian Hotel, Restaurant and Spa is conveniently situated deep in the Surrey Hills, just off the A3 south of Guildford and is ideal for both business and leisure guests alike. With its delightful a la carte restaurant - The King's Pantry - well-equipped modern and period en-suite bedrooms, large private garden, car park and well appointed Gym & Spa. The Georgian is an excellent venue for conferences, weddings, functions and Spa breaks. A few minute's walk from Haslemere Educational Museum and the town's Victorian theatre and cinema, this elegant and historic hotel is in close proximity to the famous Devil's Punch Bowl and Tennyson's Blackdown, near to Cowdray Park and Glorious Goodwood and is in easy reach of the South Coast. The Georgian Hotel, Restaurant and Spa - the perfect place to unwind, indulge and rejuvenate..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Hotel Haslemere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing