We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable one night Spa DB&B Break for two.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bury St Edmunds
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Arrived early, plenty of parking, staff happily accommodated us and allowed us to start enjoying the stay ASAP - Big thank you to the reception staff and housekeeping for accelerating our room changeover.
Stayed in the 'Honolulu' bedroom, very nice and comfortable with a massive ensuite bathroom down a couple of steps, larger corner bath and separate shower. Good lighting in bathroom.
The bedroom overlooks the side of the hotel and car park, have to close curtains for complete privacy but no big deal albeit the lighting in the room could be improved particularly in the entrance door area and wardrobe with the room safe on the floor you can't readily see your stuff inside. All very clean and well presented with complimentary water, tea, coffee and biscuits. Hairdryer provided.
Spa and treatments were also very good, nice pool, decent length for light exercise swimming, good steam room and sauna, plenty of loungers around the pool. Very good changing facilities if required. Could do with larger inside and outside rest/patio area an/or tables, it was slightly congested on the Saturday we visited but didn't detract from enjoying the sun.
The gym looked very good but we didn't use it to comment further.
Restaurant - you are asked to order your dinner courses ahead of schedule at check-in. Food quality was good but let down by slightly slow service in my opinion at the time of our visit. Took over two hours for three courses bearing in mind you order your starter and main in advance. Drinks prices are reasonable, industry average. Breakfast was nice and more efficient so I can only conclude that they were short staffed in this area of the hotel the night before as everything else was excellent.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in the 'Honolulu' Bedroom. 'Nice' but not 'Wow', would gladly stay he...
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RMH57H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl J, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Guest

Many thanks for the review, and im so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks

Daryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2017

Staff reception was good, but attentiveness and follow up lacking. Feel more work needs to be done on customer service. While the atmosphere is relaxing, feel the staff are sometimes too relaxed. Looks at times as though disorganised. Needs stronger management and perhaps more training. On the whole the venue is lovely, staff too are lovely, and the treatments are mixed. Some you feel very relaxing but sometimes depending on the ability of the person doing treatment can be not so comfortable.....
But then suppose that's what you get for a 2 for one day, think management use these days to train staff. Beautiful relaxation room well worth visit, swimming pool and Jacuzzi and steam and hot room also great, although can be busy.
Meal at lunch times can be more stressful than relaxing, food is excellent, staff are excellent but don't think they have enough staff to cope when full. Unless you pre order all your food and make sure you order all your drinks at table for during and after meal, you can wait a while for service. Been on two occasions although we were in there 12.30 we didn't get out until 2.15. Really needs looking into.. I have been a few times and would definitely recommend it. Although it has a couple of negatives, positives out weigh, a must go...

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank eh313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl J, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback - we are always striving to deliver excellent customer service and im so pleased that you recommend us.

Look forward to seeing you soon

Thanks

Daryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

HI just wanted to write a note for a lovely day at the spa the facial i had by jinny was really good and my husband had a back massage we were so really pleased.
The staff were polite and engaging a lovely day . thankyou

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl J, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Tracy

Fabulous - thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Jinnie will be so pleased to read this - we will see you again soon

Daryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

My Husband and I visited Bannatyne Bury St Edmunds on Tuesday 25th April. We arrived at 10:30am and were greeted with friendly staff at reception, given two very neatly packed Spa Bags at a very reasonable price of £5pp and then showed to the restaurant to choose what we wanted for lunch.

We were given a tour which finished at the changing rooms. We spent an hour in the very clean pool area, using the pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi before arriving for our lunch at 12:15am. We were shown straight to our table and given a jug of water. Our food and drinks arrived and the food was delicious!

We arrived for our treatments 10 minutes before our treatment times and were collected on time. We both had a Full Body Massage at 1:30pm and a Energising Facial at 4:30pm In a double treatment room which was much appreciated as we were celebrating our 2 Year Wedding Anniversary. Our Therapists Charlotte, Lucy and Louise were very friendly and professional and gave great treatments!

After our treatments we spent sometime in the warm and cosy relaxation room before heading home.

We would definitely visit again!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl J, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Guest

What a fabulous review, thank you very much for mentioning the team by name, this will make their day.

We will see you soon

Daryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

I visited yesterday with my Aunty.....we have been to Clarice house before but not since Bannatynes had taken over.
Arrival and check in was smooth, although we both said that a complimentary tea or coffee wouldn't go amiss whilst forms are being completed and lunch pre-ordered!
The £5 charge now for robes and slippers too is a disappointing addition, although we did end up getting these complimentary after a receiving a poor booking service from their central reservation line.
We were on a package which included an hour Swedish full body massage and 25 minute essential facial and both of these were very good indeed.
We went to sit in what was once the conservatory but is now a relaxation room...which is very nice once you find the entrance!
Still they could do with more seating whilst waiting for treatments as the foyer/entrance area was very busy so I had to stand and loiter for my pedicure!
The essential pedicure I booked as an extra at £38 which is completely overpriced! Really wish I hadn't now as it is not worth that at all! 25 minutes....no viguor on the filing of heels etc and massage was mostly done to the front of my leg rather than my feet and the paint was ok but not perfect...I will have to have them done again with my local lady for £22 (for an hour treatment) who is AMAZING!
There was a mix up with our pre-ordered lunch and there was obviously some staffing/training problems in the restaurant but the managers were very good and sorted it out very quickly and when we got our main courses the food was excellent.
All in all it was an enjoyable and relaxing day and we would return.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nictom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl J, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Guest

So pleased you enjoyed your experience with us, and thank you for your comments regarding the food.

We will look forward to seeing you again

Thanks

Daryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
2.1 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,208 reviews
3.4 km away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
496 reviews
4.8 km away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
634 reviews
2.6 km away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
681 reviews
15.7 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds

Address: Horringer Road | Horringer Court, Bury St Edmunds IP29 5PH, England (Formerly Clarice House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Hotel Class:5 star — Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Clarice House Hotel Bury St. Edmunds
Clarice Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Clarice Spa Bury St Edmunds
Bannatyne Spa Hotel Bury St Edmunds Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing