We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish”

The Wentworth Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 31 Restaurants in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$66
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A traditional restaurant serving modern and British classics. French influences are also evident. Enjoy hearty dishes and fresh fish and seafood obtained from the beach the same morning! Enjoy a three course dinner from £27.25. Relax in one of the spacious lounges after with a coffee. Private room also available for celebrations for up to 20 guests.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All the service and style you would wish for from a British Hotel. We booked for lunch online which was confirmed politely by a phone call. Lovely napkins and full service given. Reasonable value set lunch menu with delicious if small portions of food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sueondartmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at The Wentworth Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch with us and we hope to see you back soon. Sorry that you felt the portions were small. We are very often informed that portions are too large. It is always difficult to get it right, but a £16.00 per person for two courses, many of our regular guests find it very good value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to lunch on Tuesday and had a lovely meal.There were 4 of us and we were served well and the meal was good.We spent the whole afternoon in the lounge celebrating a birthday.We went again on Saturday,6 of us but it wasn't so good although the staff were polite,the service was extremely slow.We filled the time chatting but it shouldn't have happened.The menu on Saturday wasn't quite as good and the tart I had was quite unpleasant.We again spent the afternoon in the lounge catching up with friends so all was not lost.Unfortunately although one of my favourite places in the past,a comfortable lounge doesn't make up for less than perfect food.It will be a while til I return, if ever.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosemary1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at The Wentworth Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback following your recent lunches. Thank you for your kind comments about your first lunch but sorry that the second lunch was not as good and you did not enjoy your tart.. We do try to anticipate our guests requirements as to how quickly they like to take over their meals. You were clearly not in a rush as you were catching up with your friends and so we did not wish to hurry you. I am sorry if we got this wrong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Smart food served by friendly staff. Wonderful choice and top quality fare. The 3 course deal is good.

Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at The Wentworth Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your dinner and we appreciate the complimentary comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is very clean and spacious. Good calm, relaxing atmosphere. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and polite. There was plenty of choice on the menu. All the food was well cooked, hot and nicely presented. The food portions are generous. Recommended

Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at The Wentworth Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for your review and recommendation of the restaurant at the Wentworth Hotel. Our food is locally sourced wherever possible and we do try to create a calm, relaxing atmosphere in the restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We booked our weekend away only days before, the hotel only had rooms available in their annex but we went for it.
On arrival the receptionist was very friendly & gave us a good briefing of our hotel before showing us to our room.
The room was just behind the main hotel in a lovely converted house. Our room was spacious, clean & very well equipt. There was plenty of room for our sons pull out bed.
We opted for the dinner, bed & breakfast offer. The food was very tasty, we had a 3 course meal each night, the menu had a good choice and did not disappoint. The breakfast was also at the high standard.
The hotel offers plenty of relaxed seating areas & if you’re lucky enough you can sit next to one of their open fires, the perfect place to play a few board games.
The staff at the hotel were all so polite & helpful, they really did make our stay so pleasant.
A charming, old fashioned, quirky sea front hotel which we will high recommend.

1  Thank f_j_r_essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at The Wentworth Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to the Wentworth Hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the food and menus to your satisfaction. Your kind comments about the staff and service have been passed on to the team. We look forward to seeing you at the Wentworth again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wentworth Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Wentworth Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;