We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
CheapTickets
Snaptravel
Expedia.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (851)
Filter reviews
851 results
Traveller rating
575
210
45
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
575
210
45
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews darfield house sea view the main hotel a family run hotel no lift open fire traditional hotel public areas lovely hotel high standard afternoon tea wine list fish breakfast and dinner lamb first class sea front
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 851 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2019

23 years since we lived in Suffolk and moved away. It was lovely to return, revisiting our old stomping ground and remind ourselves of some wonderful memories.

The Wentworth is a well located hotel in a great seaside town; very clean & comfortable with a good restaurant and good public spaces. Not the cheapest of places to stay but is reasonably priced for what is provided.

It will not be another 23 years before we return and the Wentworth will be on our radar for that return.

Room tip: Rooms are good but go for a sea view.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RobbieSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWentworth, Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2019

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your return visit to Suffolk and found the facilities and services at the hotel to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you on you next visit to Suffolk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2019

We have stayed in Aldeburgh several times, but never at The Wentworth. Outside it looks a bit austere and unprepossessing. How misguided we were. This is the best hotel we have stayed in in the UK. We had a late summer break (which is very good value).

From the moment you walk in you are in pristine surroundings that are very well maintained. The hotel is beautifully furnished with lovely curtains and carpets of the best quality. There are several lounges, all spacious and comfortable. When the sun shines there is a terrace facing the sea. Rooms are luxurious and very bright with large modern bathrooms and every amenity. All surfaces gleam. Staff are warm and helpful, especially in the dining room, which is also very spacious and attractive.

Food is delicious and attractively presented, with a huge choice of breakfast dishes including kippers and finnan haddock and vegetarian options. Dinner menus change daily, with local fish as fresh as can be, and again there are imaginative veggie dishes. The chef is happy to vary dishes for your dietary requirements. Desserts are good too. There is a good wine list, including some interesting wines by the glass. We usually dine out in Aldeburgh, but the inclusive dinners were so lovely that we did not miss out.

The hotel has no lift, though there are a few ground floor rooms. It is sited at the far end of town (though only a few hundred yards from the centre), across the road from the beach and the long pathway to Thorpeness.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnold Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWentworth, Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2019

Thank you for completing a comprehensive review of your first stay at the Wentworth Hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the facilities and services the hotel has to offer and consider it an honor that it is the best hotel you have stayed in in the UK.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Aldeburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2019

This is our third stay at the Wentworth and it doesn’t disappoint. The overall quality of the staff, food and comfortable surroundings remain consistently good. Our experience is that everyone works hard to make our time there a really good one. To see the pleasure my 86 year old mother has, as do we, in our time there is a credit to all the staff and the relaxing atmosphere they create for their guests. So once again thank you for that.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liseviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWentworth, Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2019

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay and for the positive comments you expressed. We were delighted that you and your Mother continue to enjoy the facilities and services of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2019

The hotel is spotlessly clean with and the room we had overlooking the beach could not be faulted. One of best we've stayed in.

However, I was disappointed with a number of things. At reception I was told my room was on the 2nd floor, which it probably was if I was in the USA. In reality it was on the 1st and being disabled caused me an unnecessary problem. Despite being told that our case would be brought my wife went and collected it after 1/4 hour. We were denied entry to the main lounge on the Saturday morning as it was reserved for a private party. Having paid top dollar I deserve better. The barman was run off his feet. He needs assistance at weekend lunchtime.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank foxesforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWentworth, Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2019

Thank you for your review. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your room but sorry about other aspects of your stay were unsatisfactory. The hotel does not have a lift and this information is available on all booking channels. I am sorry for the delay in having your case taken to your room. The hotel does have a number of lounges and private parties are booked from time to time in quieter times in the Garden Lounge. I apologise if this inconvenienced you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2019

stayed a couple of nights dinner, bed and breakfast - great location with sea views - best to be on first floor not ground floor for the views - easy to walk into the town centre and good parking either in the hotel's small car park or local coast road Food was well cooked and delicious

Room tip: request sea view and stay above ground floor book dinner in advance if you want a table beside the sea
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivienp201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMWentworth, Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2019

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel does have an enviable location and as an independent, traditional hotel is good to know that our facilities and services are appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews