We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service”
Review of Caruso

Caruso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Caruso. Our great authentic Italian restaurant offers a unique and welcoming environment in which to share life's best moments with friends and family whilst enjoying our delicious food, dessert and wines. You'll be greeted by the enticing aromas of freshly home cooked meals which has been our focus since we opened our doors over 35 years ago. Italian food has long been synonymous with health, tradition, culture, history and authentic taste. "A tavola non si invecchia.- Italian proverb. Translation: "At the table with good friends and family you do not become old." We have a small but pleasant bar on entering, the menu is served in the restaurant, the feel is warm and welcoming. Rocco the owner, time permitting will greet you and show you to your table, he has been cooking all his life and brings Italian charm and good humour to the table.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Been here a few times over the years and it has always been nice, took my partner for a nice meal for date night and was very disappointed, the food was bland and very slow to come out considering only 3 tables were in.

Never the less tried again as a takeaway for the family and the pasta was hard and tasted sour and the Parmesan was very chewy and tasteless. Only bit that got eaten was the chips and had to then order pizza for the kids

Date of visit: February 2018
2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

A family ran business, great atmosphere, amazing food and lovely accommodating staff! Very reasonably priced - we love it here. For anyone visiting Stockton this is a great place to eat

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Jadeymcc505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

What a lovely restaurant. Good food with excellent pleasant staff. The restaurant had a nice selection on the menu and a nice atmosphere. Will definitely come here again.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank MikeF2391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely evening at Rocco's . Food and service excellent. It's a Stockton institution, as is Rocco himself. He's such a lovely human being. Staff are wonderful. And the cognac and conversation at the end wonderful! Thank you Rocco and staff.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

I’ve been here before and enjoyed it but on my second visit I was a bit disappointed.

I think it’s tried to cater too much for the masses which has cheapened the feel of the restaurant. The pizzas weren’t authentic Italian style thin bases and you’re asked if you want chips with everything ...

On the other hand, it caters for all the family and it’s cheap and cheerful. It’s not trying to be anything else.

For me, it’s average but I can why some people will love it.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Wilkie_Pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caruso also viewed

Stockton-on-Tees, England
Stockton-on-Tees, England
 
Billingham, Stockton-on-Tees
Billingham, Stockton-on-Tees
 
Stockton-on-Tees, England
Stockton-on-Tees, England
 

Been to Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing