We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice”

Rare Lounge Bar & Steakhouse Dresden
Ranked #45 of 594 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our speciality is thick, juicy, succulent, and tasty steaks, which our Chefs will char grill to your preference. We source our beef locally from Staffordshire farms and insist on the best, top quality cuts to ensure you really can taste the difference. For non steak lovers and non meat eaters our Head Chef has created an exciting array of dishes to tantalise your taste buds including delicious salads, chicken, fish, home made burgers and fajita dishes, as well as a good range of Starters, and delicious Desserts to finish you meal. Open from 4pm Monday -Saturday until Midnight and from 4pm until 11pm on a Sunday. Rare is not only about great food and service day and night, if you are looking just to where enjoy a beer, a glass of wine, or a superb Cocktail, then it's the place for you, grab a drink and sit back and relax with friends. So whatever the occasion day or night, a relaxed meal, or just a drink with friends, Rare can cater for you. We have full disabled access and children are welcome, and catered for with their own menu.
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Went here last week with my daughter and son in law it was absolutely great 100% better than their other one in Newcastle under Lyme (won't go there ever again) my daughter had gammon my son in law steak he's very fussy but really enjoyed it. I had the steak pie absolutely brilliant full of steak and never had such nice chops we actually ordered another portion after we had finished our meal 5☆

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank sandylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RareSteakhouse, Manager at Rare Lounge Bar & Steakhouse Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Hi Sandy
Thank you very much for your kind words it means a lot to me and all the team.
As a local independent business we appreciate your custom and support.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2018

We come here for nice meal out and on special occasions too my husband favourite place the service is absolutely brilliant and food is amazing nice relaxing atmosphere can’t do enough for you we will be returning again back in March for Hubby’s birthday

Date of visit: January 2018
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank kmoore847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RareSteakhouse, Manager at Rare Lounge Bar & Steakhouse Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Hi There
We thank you for your kind words it means a lot to me and the team, as a local Independent Business we really do appreciate your loyalty and support.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Once again had a fabulous night at Rare, Paul always looks after us, his customer service is the best, top bloke

But a huge shout out to our waitress tonight Toni, nothing was too much trouble, she was so lovely and caring. In a chat she realised it was my other half's birthday and organised a candle and happy birthday music for a surprise. Such a lovely gesture, thank you x

We've been coming here for years and never cease to be amazed at how good it is, brilliant guys, keep doing what you're doing x

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Belles50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RareSteakhouse, Manager at Rare Lounge Bar & Steakhouse Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you very much for your excellent review it means a lot to me and the team, as a local Independent Business we really do value your custom and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

First visit here for us and it was great. We had loaded potato skins for starter which were lovely. The steaks were cooked just as we’d asked and the coleslaw is gorgeous. My partner is a steak lover (mixed grill) and has it virtually every time we go out and compares place to place and said this was by far the best. His plate was massive we thoroughly enjoyed it and will return. Staff were really nice too.

Date of visit: January 2018
2  Thank SammyD28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RareSteakhouse, Manager at Rare Lounge Bar & Steakhouse Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Hi Sammy
We thank you for your excellent review it means a lot to myself and the team.
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

The worst steak I have ever eaten!
We arrived a party of 8, 3 ordered medium rare sirloin. Which came dry and over cooked, it was served well done, no flavour what so ever. A side of onion rings were ordered however came out 10-15 mins after the mains had actually been served. 2 watery peppercorn sauce which did not come straight away with the meal, we had to ask for them to actually remember that we ordered them. 2 people ordered the Cajun chicken sizzler, for a start this was not a sizzler, the chicken was chargrilled, rock solid, dry, rubbery, and inedible. Neither meals were eaten! 1 person ordered the bbq chicken burger, she was last to be served her meal and we were waiting to eat for a while before again they actually remembered we we’re waiting for another meal, then when they did actually bring the meal out, it was a Cajun burger, not the bbq! That was sent back and the correct burger was served, which then was still disappointing, chicken was similar to the sizzlers, was dry and rubbery. The meal was not eaten. The only positive was 1/8 meals, the steak pie was good. Lynnette our waitress was very apologetic and did try and do everything she could to ensure we were happy. However the ‘manager’ overheard us complaining and chose to ignore us, he let the waitress take the entire blame for the evening, we weren’t the only customers tonight to complain. He did not come over to speak to us once. He dictated to the waitress she should tell us that we would not be getting a discount and the only thing they could do was a free dessert. He should be ashamed to call himself a manager, he did not apologise, and he was clearly happy to let the entire restaurant hear our complaints to the waitress and he chose not to act on it. It was clear by full plates and angry reactions we did not enjoy the service or the food. The chef was terrible tonight. I would avoid this place. Fortunately after staying at the restaurant an extra hour to complain about how bad the food was, we got 2 meals deducted from the bill. A special birthday occasion turned out to be a really awful overpriced evening. We will never return to Rare Dresden again.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank Truely S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RareSteakhouse, Manager at Rare Lounge Bar & Steakhouse Dresden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Hi There
We thank you for your review and we really are very sorry that you did not have a good experience on the evening of your visit.
I would like to point out I did not ignore your table on the night, the lady you refer to in your review was my Assistant Manager, whom you mention in your review " did all she could to make you happy " she was keeping me informed of your situation and she felt she had dealt with your adverse comments to your satisfaction on the night herself by deducting the cost of the 2 meals from your bill, the only other issue we had from your table was one person mentioned his steak was a bit overcooked, we apologised and offered a replacement meal to which he refused and then proceeded to clear his plate as did the other people who had steaks.
I can obviously tell from the 4 negative reviews your party has placed on various social media websites that despite the compensation you were given for your food on the evening we still did not do enough for you and once again for that we sincerely apologise, the last thing we wanted was for you to leave the Restaurant unhappy.
We receive many outstanding comments for our food and service at the Restaurant and we do hope that you decide to give us another try in the future.
Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rare Lounge Bar & Steakhouse Dresden also viewed

Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Rare Lounge Bar & Steakhouse Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing