We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A unique luxury lodge straight out of the pages...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ingestre Lodges

Ingestre Lodges & Riding School
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ingestre Lodges & Riding School
The Courtyard and working stables The Courtyard and working stables
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Ingestre Lodges & Riding School
The Courtyard and working stables
The Courtyard and working stables
Enjoy a glass of wine in the sumptuous Living room
a magnificent Hall for that special occasion
The dining table for a banquete
The Chefs Kitchen
An Island or social hub
The Luxurious Master Bedroom
The Luxurious Master Bedroom with en-suite and walk-in-wardrobe
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stafford, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Russian first
Any
English first
Delia F
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“A unique luxury lodge straight out of the pages of Country Living!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We spent one week at the beginning of summer and loved it so much we returned again for two weeks at the end of August.
The location and setting is superb, nestled in the historic working stables of Ingestre we enjoyed all that the countryside has to offer yet were conveniently placed for the shops and facilities of Stafford town and local villages.
The owners, Aaron and Anna, were exceptionally welcoming and were always on hand to answer any questions.
It couldn't have been more perfect!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Lodge itself
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2014
Hello there!
Thank you (belatedly!) for your lovely words! We were thrilled that you came back and stayed with us for longer! I still remember us gamely sitting in the rain in the courtyard watching the play! (but with champagne- so that was ok!) Hope you guys are all well and that we see you again this year!
Take care
Anna and Aaron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and facilities”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A party of 11 of us stayed for three nights (arrived Friday and departed Monday) taking the Chetwynd and Diamond rooms. Anna and Aaron were very helpful in the run up to the weekend. Over the weekend we had a local cook come in and prepare a delicious meal (Sheila Sindrey - try the sweets!) and on Sunday afternoon had a party for 60 people. Original plan was to have it outside, but the British weather gave us its worse so we had the party inside. There was lots of room so everyone had the opportunity to move around. We used an ante room for food, drink and puddings. Also check out the crockery - lovely mugs and plates.
Points to note:
1) The hob is an induction hob.
2) The entrance is locked at night (to protect the horses) but Anna can provide a key.
All-in-all a fantastic venue with lots to do locally and very helpful hosts. Venue is thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2014
Hi there!
Thank you so much for your lovely words! We were delighted that you all enjoyed staying at the Lodges and that the birthday weekend was such a success!
Hope you all get a chance to visit us again!
Take care
Anna and Aaron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen L
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place to escape to...forever!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I was immediately taken with the pictures on the website and charmed by the quick and friendly email response from the owners. We arrived after a long flight and train ride and stepped immediately into the welcoming ambience of the Diamond Lodge. Coffee, tea, elderflower, a crusty loaf of bread, preserves and marmalade...a great welcome basket of goodies. And did I mention eggs,.butter and cheese in the fridge! The property and surroundings are gorgeous, beautiful English countryside and horses...calming and relaxing. My 9 year old daughter had her first riding lesson and is ready for more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The bed and bedding!
Liked least: The light from the smoke alarm!:-)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2014
Hey there! Thank you (belatedly!) for your lovely review! We loved having you both and were very proud of having visitors form Trinidad and Tobago! Hope you get a chance to come back and stay with us again!
Best wishes to you both
Anna and Aaron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderfully luxurious and relaxing retreat in a stunning setting.”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Every need was catered for by Anna & Aaron Chetwynd who were efficient yet relaxed hosts. Within the lodge everything supplied was of the highest quality; toiletries, towels, crockery, hamper of food and drink, bedding. We found all necessary items, nothing was missed or forgotten. We were most comfortable and felt very pampered.
The retreat is furnished beautifully alongside showcasing its period features, creating a luxurious haven within this handsome listed building.
The location is unique, with a friendly atmosphere and always something to watch; horses being saddled, playful stable dogs. Outside of the courtyard there are also the architectural gems of Ingestre Church, Hall and Orangery to enjoy.
All in all, a truly special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The convivial and generous hosts followed by the view from our comfortable bed of the stables and horses.
Liked least: Returning to London!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2014
Thank you both for your lovely words! We were delighted to have you and very pleased to hear how much you liked the Lodges.
Hope you come again soon!
Take care
Anna and Aaron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_GHo...
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Stay Way Beyond Our Expectations”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My wife and myself and 4 teenagers were very lucky to spend a week at Ingestre Lodge. We stayed in Chetwynd which was 6 star in every way. There were 4 bedrooms (the master bedroom was amazing) and 3 bathrooms therefore no fighting for showers. The living area was huge with a kitchen with every ammenity that you would ever need. Occupying one wing of the historic Ingestre stables we found it very relaxing. If you like horseriding the stable next run by Tim Downes will cater to every level. Even if you are not a rider this is a great place to stay as it is very central to many attractions and sites in central England and is an excellent base for exploring. Last but by no means lease the hosts Anna ans Aaron. What a lovely couple ever willng to make your stay perfect in every sense and no request seems to difficult or in any way a problem. We will defintiely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chetwynd Lodge in every aspect
Liked least: Cant think of anything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2014
Hey there!
Thank you (so belatedly!) for your lovely words! You were great guests and we have very happy memories of you all as our first ones! Thank you for looking after the p[lace so well and also for being so enthusiastic!
I hope you all come back again this year and stay with us again!
Take care
Anna and Aaron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$2,435
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing