We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
368
185
68
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
185
68
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park multi storey meal deal lichfield city centre pay and display beacon park few minutes walk sleep quality bars and restaurants ideal location sunday night beautiful city family room comfortable bed poached eggs good nights sleep the hotel is clean
Filter
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 656 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Stayed here on business a couple of times in a week. Great location as you can walk to all the restaurants to eat, didn't have a car so parking not an issue but parking is available at a small cost.

New hotel so rooms are modern, clean and very comfortable, had a great nights sleep and even though on street front didn't hear anything.

Staff were very attentive, ate here one night as arrived late, convenient and was okay but typical modern hotel choice, Curry, pizza etc. Breakfast was okay but probably wouldn't bother in future.

If looking for a centrally located hotel with a good night sleep guaranteed then this would be a good choice

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matty07uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

We were looking for a central place to stay for 2 days as we were in Lichfield for a family birthday and reunion. The hotel was clean, well equipped, good breakfast, had all the room facilities needed. It is in easy reach of the cathedral and centre. We'd stay there again.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank QRPman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Thank you to Premier Inn for taking us in when The George over booked and moved us to The Premier Inn.

In future I would just go there, it's beautifully clean and comfortable with excellent customer care. An added bonus, they now provide a full breakfast in the morning.

All in all, a very comfortable stay.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank EssexHamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

I've previously raved about this hotel, but on my 4th visit dropping this from 5 to 2 stars.
Food was less than average, ongoing problems with room temperature, and the nearby car parking (council owned) has a painful pay and display.

We had an evening meal in the restaurant. I went for a Chicken Caesar salad, and it tasted horrible. I don't know where they get their chicken from, but it definitely wasn't quality chicken. It was bland, tasteless, and no texture. My wife's curry had the same chicken, but at least some flavour. The shared camberet is perhaps 1/3rd size of a normal camberet. We didn't complain, as we didn't want to offend the kind staff. I wish we had mentioned it.

Room temperature is a problem. The heating / aircon controller is adhoc in reliability. Too cold, too hot, or no response at all. It's exactly the same issue I had on my first visit. And judging by other reviews, it's not isolated.

The car parking doesn't belong to the Premier Inn, but it's a shame after this long the hotel and car park haven't reached an arrangement. My frustration is the following scenario. You arrive after 6.30pm Saturday night and you want to park through to Sunday evening. Theres no overnight charge and it's only £1.00 for all day Sunday, but the machine wants to charge you £4.50. What do you do? Be held to ransom, or wake up before 7.30am Sunday morning to get a £1 ticket. Yes... I could take this up with the car park owners, or premier Inn could make overnight parking easier for us.

As always, great staff, comfortable beds, but no longer feeling the love.

In summary, if I'm paying premium prices for dinner, then please serve fresh food, or lower your prices.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Hi Adrian D

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.
At Premier Inn it is our aim to make our guests feel brilliant through a great night’s sleep, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay fell far short of your expectations.
Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards and please be assured your comments will be followed up by the Management Team at the hotel.
Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards

Amy Thacker
Premier Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

This Premier Inn gives you what you expect from a generic chain; spacious rooms and the guarantee of a good night's sleep. We didn't feel that this one was quite firing on all six, although some of the staff were excellent. We had three nights midweek and enjoyed the location, very handy for the city centre and the road links to all points.
Breakfast was the usual buffet style apart from one morning when there were obviously less guests and cooked food was only available to order. There were some menu items on the continental side which weren't available for the first two mornings and on the full buffet days there were some items which were past their best, notably scrambled egg on the first day. The staff were obviously coping with reduced numbers so plates and other things were sometimes in short supply and some guests were waiting a fair while before being shown to a table. The car park is a pay and display, very handy just around the corner with a back entrance which is handy for the Premier Inn. Another small minus point was that in a double-occupancy room often we find only one set of towels; this was the case here and we had to go and ask for another hand towel. Small point but it all adds to the feeling that the place is not running at optimum efficiency.
Another small point is that if one wanted a coffee during the evening there were no biscuits or anything like that available, unlike ones which have a Costa on site.
We also found it difficult to regulate the room temperature and during the first night found the only way to stop the fan was to switch the whole thing off!
As I said, some of the staff were very good and all were at least pleasant!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews