We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel with my family and the man that checked us in was polite and he showed us to are bedroom when we opened our door our bedroom had a four poster bed we had a room at the front with views over the garden. The hotel is in a lovely location and has a lovely garden

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    49
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
55
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
consett, Co. durham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Just back from a weekend at The Hedgehog - thoroughly enjoyed it. Room was good size -had a cottage feel. Clean with good size wardrobe with plenty of hangers and lots of drawer space.
Downstairs in the bar there was a good atmosphere - appears to be very popular as over our three night stay there were loads of the tables reserved. We ate at the inn on two of our three nights and we were not disappointed with the food - both starters, main course and puds were delicious.
Breakfast was continental style - more than adequate but have to say this morning seemed to be a little chaotic - don't know if the regular staff were off but things didn't appear as well organised as Saturday and Sunday - however nothing that couldn't be sorted very quickly.
The grounds/gardens were extensive and ideal if you have children - also ample parking. We will definitely return to the Hedgehog if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravellers073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Positive: Staff friendly; comfortable accommodation.
Negative: Dirty glasses, plates etc were left on the tables for up to an hour or longer; annoying dog that barked incessantly until his owner (a local) returned from getting another pint at the bar inside; dirty glasses stacked on the bar; one person on the bar taking food and drinks orders.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We live in Lichfield so have been to eat at the pub several times. The pub itself it in a beautiful setting and the garden is great for eating outside in the summer. When it arrives, the food is ok. We have stuck with it for a few months as there is no other pub setting like it that we have found since moving here but after our last visit we have given up. The quality of service is appalling. We have always had a long wait for food no matter what day or time we have been to eat. When we went yesterday we were surrounded by other people who had all complained about the long wait for food. The staff behind the bar in particular are rude and gave us the impression we were inconveniencing them with any requests we made. A waitress offered to fetch the bill for us as the wait at the bar is so long and then forgot about us herself. She then blamed us for not bringing it to her attention - it was not for lack of trying on our part! A real shame as it has such potential.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OutforaMeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Very busy on our arrival, mid afternoon but not short of people ordering food, a wedding reception was also in kid flow, despite this the staff were very attentive, polite and helpful. The room was clean & spacious, due to our last minute booking we were located at back of the building above the kitchen but the room itself was fine. We had our evening meal there too, again good value for money pub grub. Continental breakfast (included in the price) on offer with a good selection of cereals, yogurts, breads & pastries, endless fresh coffee & selection of teas & as much as u wanted in a very relaxed atmosphere. A variety of hot breakfasts were available at an extra premium. All in all a little gem & worth a stop over. Good staff, good location, good rooms & good food all for a good price.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandymoo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lichfield hotels
1.1 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
6.4 km away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Address: Stafford Road | The Hedgehog, Lichfield WS13 8JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a beautifully restored 18th century property, this lodge provides some of the most welcoming accommodation in Lichfield. Thanks to its proximity to the M6 Toll, the M42 and the commercial hub of Birmingham, it's a convenient base for business trips.Set in its own grounds, the lodge is dripping with original features and has nine comfy rooms and a large garden. You'll also find a cosy pub offering hearty, seasonally inspired food, a great range of cask ales and a generous serving of rustic charm.Lichfield is a pretty, quintessentially English city that's probably most famous for its fantastic medieval cathedral. Begun in 1195, Lichfield Cathedral has three distinctive spires and two lovely waterside walks. There are plenty of other local attractions, though. For starters, you could learn about the father of the modern dictionary at the Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum or take a stroll through the leafy National Memorial Aboretum or Birches Valley Forest Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedgehog Vintage Hotel Lichfield
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing