We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What an amazing place!”
other travellers have booked this property
The cottage from the front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage from the front
The Cottage from the side to the garden From the front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
The cottage from the front
The Cottage from the side to the garden
From the front door
The Lounge
The Lounge
The kitchen
The kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
The Spare Bedroom
Looking behind the cottage towards the Steeple
From the Patio Doors
The Rear Garden
The Old Hospital Entrance
The Old Hospital
Towards the Golf Club from the entrance
The Bishops moat and walls
Beneath the Bishops Palace
The Bishops Palace grounds
Inside the Bishops Palace
Inside the Bishops Palace
The Vicars Close
Inside the Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wells, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Norwegian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
C79URchri...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“What an amazing place!”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My brother and I thoroughly enjoyed our week at No. 4 Lower Chapel Court, South Horrington. What a fantastic place! No. 4 was beautifully presented, very modern and quiet, and with everything that we could possible need - a welcome package, wifi, television with all the extras (Sky, dvd player and music) washing machine, dryer and dishwasher. The cottage was warm and cosy, and very welcoming. We did a lot of sightseeing and found that the cottage was well situated for all the places that we wanted to visit. At the end of a busy day, we looked forward to returning to the cottage. Parking was easy and we enjoyed relaxing in the courtyard most evenings. The owners provided information on places to see and places to eat, instructions for the appliances and a book on the history of the Mendip Hospital and its second life as South Horrington. As a lover of beautiful old buildings, I found this place amazing. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage's situation in such a beautiful setting.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well equipped, very clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Great location giving easy access to all sorts of attractions and places in Somerset and beyond. Very comfortable and quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matt B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday destination”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Fantastic! Highly recommended! Lovely place in an awesome location, owned by briliant people, visited wookey hole, cheddar gorge and wells (filming location for Hot Fuzz) had a fantastic dinner at the crown. fully recommended. thank you so much you guys we hope you'll let us come back again!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
628audrey...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excepyional property in a quiet location.”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent 7 days over Christmas at 4 Lower Chapel Court and had the most comfortable stay. The cottage is exceptionally well appointed with tasteful décor and lovely personal touches. The owners attention to detail is exceptional. Information provided prior to our visit was detailed and timely and the festive touches to the cottage on our arrival made this a truly memorable Christmas. Best holiday let we have stayed in by far.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We enjoyed everything about this delightful property
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing