We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
88
9
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
9
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering unit glastonbury tor watching the rabbits direct access white spring my home away from home large kitchen breakfast is served homemade bread yogurt stay there again would highly recommend staying here great shower sitting area high street minute walk comfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

True hospitality and great service! It was lovely .. from now on, travelling to Glastonbury y a complete dream thanks to this family driven Bed and Breakfast.
Extraordinary breakfast in a peaceful and homy english country house. The Kitchen can be pictured in a home decor magazine for its immense size , light and views!
The home made bread and juice are a MUST!
Feels cosy, at home... Spacious, cheerful, updated even if under the rain.
The whole house is clean, organised,.. it has all you need!
The shower and its pressure are excellent. The amenities are large and you can have a real shower with your nice quantity of shampoo!
Beds are extra comfortable and there is plenty of room in the cupboards and room !

Room tip: All the choices are are excellent
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margauxrosillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahOliver64, Owner at Melrose House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Wow thank you for your kind words - a lot to live up to. Homemade juice and bread are proving a real positive, and the hens are being very well behaved and producing the eggs. Long may this continue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Lovely spacious garden. Could see Glastonbury Tor from our bed.
Delicious breakfast in the large kitchen. 15 min. walk to Glastonbury centre/abbey, the walk up to Glastonbury Tor begins in the gardens of Melrose House.

Room tip: Ask for the room with the view to Glastonbury Tor
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank katrin104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahOliver64, Owner at Melrose House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

We are incredibly lucky to have such wonderful garden area and right at the foot of Glastonbury Tor. It is a lovely way to walk down to Chalice Well and up to the Tor, more and more guests are choosing to walk into town this way too.

Thank you for taking the time to do a TA review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

I stayed at Melrose House for a night so I could watch the sunrise on Glastonbury Tor on the morning of the Solstice. The house is perfectly located at the bottom of the Tor with direct access from the garden and Chalice Well is just a few minutes walk down the hill. It's conveniently located for the town centre and the A303 and the views over the Vale of Avalon from my room were spectacular.

I was warmly welcomed, Andy and Sarah were so accommodating and I was made to feel like part of the family during my brief stay. My room was comfortable and well equipped and the bathroom was gorgeous with a lovely selection of toiletries and luxury towels.

The gardens are tranquil and spacious and I loved watching the rabbits hopping around! I was only there overnight but had I been there longer I would have loved sitting there with a cup of tea enjoying the fresh air.

Sarah's breakfast was delicious, there was a varied selection of cereals, fruits and yoghurts and a cooked vegetarian breakfast was made to order. I would definitely stay here again, I feel that it represents excellent value for money and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to solo female travellers, or anyone else for that matter!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahOliver64, Owner at Melrose House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

The chance of going up Glastonbury Tor for sunrise is well worth taking - wonderful weather helps to set the scene as well, The rabbits and birds come into their own as well. Thank you for taking time to make this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

I can't say enough about Melrose House! I've been there three years in a row and truly consider it my home away from home. Sarah ,the Lady of Melrose is so lovely and helpful ...makes you feel right at home. Andy and Sarah always cook up the most delicious breakfasts!!! The gardens are gorgeous and the rooms are beautiful and freshly updated. The property is situated on the Tor and next to Chalice Well..what could be better?! I'm looking forward to my next stay in October!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Fredda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Well equipped, very clean & comfortable stay at The Burrow. Ate meals out on the deck, with birdsong & breeze. Mature trees in the grounds allow for privacy and relaxation. Wonderful place, to sit out and enjoy the sunshine. Can barely hear traffic. Peaceful and dark at night. Fantastic night's sleep. Firm, comfortable beds and great shower. Kitchen well stocked.

Recommend for a relaxing weekend for friends, couples or small family. Sarah is so helpful and friendly. The gardens are lovely and there's access directly to the Tor through the garden gate. Chalice Well and White Spring 5 minute walk. Glastonbury town centre 15 minute walk. Shall return in future!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Louise Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahOliver64, Owner at Melrose House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Always helpful when the sun shines as well. We are over the moon at how The Burrow has turned out. Thank you for taking the time to make a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews