We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting hotel at Glastonbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
George and Pilgrims Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Glastonbury
Reviewed 5 April 2015

The hotel is perfectly located at the city centre, and has a very interesting atmosphere. There is a public parking place at the back of the hotel, so it was easy to find a place to leave the car. The room was good, but the chair in the room was damaged, making it impossible to seat on it. The bathroom was ok, we found it to be a bit smelly, but nothing very serious. Besides these minor flaws, it was a pleasant stay. The breakfast was delicious!

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CSM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 180 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2015

A few comments saying this place has potential to be something special hits the nail right on the head. It has character and intrigue, but its tacky and looks tired. Also the walls are so thin that you can really hear the people talking in the next room (or above/below, you couldn't tell) and it's not just mumbling either, but every word of the conversation!

And it didn't begin too well; our room wasn't made when we arrived (at 9pm!) so we were upgraded to the Henry the Eighth room which has a unique four poster bed. As mentioned, this could be a really great room along with the hotel but little things like horrible curtains, a cupboard without handles and holes in the carpet really bring it down.

However the staff were friendly and the breakfast was great (2 things I noticed were main gripes here), so was pleasantly surprised about those aspects. Overall good for a night but definitely wouldn't advise longer.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cpheonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

i came here with my mum, after a bit of shopping we decided to stop for lunch. The food here is fresh and home made , and you can taste it! The staff were attentive and friendly. I would definitely come back.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Friendly staff and good food. The room (No.10) was fine except the emergency exit runs between the room and bathroom. With no door on the bathroom! Was woken and kept awake by the rain dripping on the metal escape steps. But it is 15th century building, so no double glazing. Would certainly go back, but would not accept the same room again.

1  Thank MH_Ches
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 March 2015

We popped in for a drink at lunchtime, it was very busy, the staff were friendly. This was our first visit to Glastonbury and we had already booked our accommodation but this looked a great place to stay being in the town centre. Maybe next time

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Redbrickwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glastonbury
5.5 km away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
141 reviews
0.9 km away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
344 reviews
5.3 km away
Millbatch Farm
Millbatch Farm
#5 of 5 in Glastonbury
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
2.5 km away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
109 reviews
9.2 km away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George and Pilgrims Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George and Pilgrims Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Glastonbury BA6 9DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Glastonbury
Price Range: €71 - €161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George and Pilgrims Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your George and Pilgrims Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George And Pilgrims Glastonbury
Hotel George And Pilgrims
George And Pilgrims Hotel Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing