We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
154
159
76
51
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
159
76
51
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster the pub ancient building lots of history king henry viii poster bed steeped in history high street public car park original features full english an evening meal double room stayed for one night beautiful room visiting glastonbury ghost
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2015

A few comments saying this place has potential to be something special hits the nail right on the head. It has character and intrigue, but its tacky and looks tired. Also the walls are so thin that you can really hear the people talking in the next room (or above/below, you couldn't tell) and it's not just mumbling either, but every word of the conversation!

And it didn't begin too well; our room wasn't made when we arrived (at 9pm!) so we were upgraded to the Henry the Eighth room which has a unique four poster bed. As mentioned, this could be a really great room along with the hotel but little things like horrible curtains, a cupboard without handles and holes in the carpet really bring it down.

However the staff were friendly and the breakfast was great (2 things I noticed were main gripes here), so was pleasantly surprised about those aspects. Overall good for a night but definitely wouldn't advise longer.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cpheonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

i came here with my mum, after a bit of shopping we decided to stop for lunch. The food here is fresh and home made , and you can taste it! The staff were attentive and friendly. I would definitely come back.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Friendly staff and good food. The room (No.10) was fine except the emergency exit runs between the room and bathroom. With no door on the bathroom! Was woken and kept awake by the rain dripping on the metal escape steps. But it is 15th century building, so no double glazing. Would certainly go back, but would not accept the same room again.

1  Thank MH_Ches
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 March 2015

We popped in for a drink at lunchtime, it was very busy, the staff were friendly. This was our first visit to Glastonbury and we had already booked our accommodation but this looked a great place to stay being in the town centre. Maybe next time

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Redbrickwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

Entering at the rear via a nondescript car park things just get better the place is packed with old world charm including a suite of armour,the pub is busy with friendly staff and locals ( of whom some are quite colourful).The beer is good as is the cider( well it is Somerset) Lots of nooks and crannies and whilst we did not stay for food lots of people seemed to be tucking in with gusto.As you continue exiting via the front door the theme persists and you emerge into a different world of shops selling new and ancient spiritual paraphernalia.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Woodybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews