We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Meare Manor(Glastonbury)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Millbatch Farm(Glastonbury)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel(Glastonbury)(Great Value!)
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bellhay Orchard(Glastonbury)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apple Tree Inn(Glastonbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
153
155
75
51
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
155
75
51
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour posterthe pubancient buildinglots of historyking henry viiihigh streetposter bedsteeped in historypublic car parkoriginal featuresfull englishan evening mealstayed for one nightbeautiful roomdouble roomvisiting glastonburyghost
Filter
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed in Henry Vlll room over a weekend - noise from street on Saturday night until late but room and atmosphere made up for it, Quirky room - sloping floor so don't put a drink on bedside table! Furniture in room fits in with theme. Nice shower but no bath. T V reception very bad but you don't come here to spend time watching tele! Didn't eat in restaurant - but might be advisable to book for one of the town restaurants on a Saturday night. Breakfasts very good. Staff polite and helpful.

Room Tip: If its character you want ask for one of the named rooms. Four poster rooms definitely worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoBeth65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in the George. Wonderful, is the only word which sums it up. From the barman to the owner - everyone was welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was immaculately clean, bed comfortable, bathroom beautiful too. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful. We would have no hesitation in staying here again and also recommending it wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leclartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at george and pilgrim , the sloping rooms and the names add character to the place which has alot of history. We didnt see the ghost of a monk who suppose to haunt the place. The food very good and the staff was very friendly and polite. We wish the new owners good luck and best wishes for the future. the rooms were clean and were cleaned daily.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Historic 1400s hotel. A former Glastonbury pilgrims' inn. Reputedly, Henry VIII also stayed here when dissolving the nearby Abbey. Very atmospheric. Fresh clean rooms, good in-room TV and powerful shower. Food pretty good too. I'd go back!

Room Tip: Monk's Cell is supposedly haunted -- but he is a friendly smiley ghost, reportedly. Also, remember it has a pub downstairs so it can noisy before midnight.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FleurD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Having drank at the George and Pilgrim on several previous visits to Glastonbury, I was eager to stay here, despite all the iffy reviews on here. In the end, we couldn't have been more delighted with our stay.
Initially slightly disappointed that we got allocated a room in the "newer" extension of the building, whereas our friends got rooms in the historic part of the pub, nevertheless our room was charismatically decorated, with similar antique-looking furniture to the older rooms and being at the back, was away from street noise. I think all the basic tariff rooms are quite small but for the price we paid, still found it great value for an historic hotel slap bang in the middle of town!
We had the previously mentioned Room 10, which amused us greatly to have the fire escape corridor running through the bathroom!
All the rooms have delightfully creaky floors and some of the older room floors are seriously sloping (our friend joked about his tea cup travelling across the bedside table at night in his room!) - but that's what you get when you stay in an ancient building! :-)

We found the staff/owners very friendly but with a no-nonsense attitude. Exactly what I'd expect from a pub-with-rooms. We happened to arrive ahead of schedule, 2 hours early but the landlady was at reception at the time and let us check in early. (note that contrary to older reviews, they no longer charge a £10 deposit for the remote control! It was still a bit surreal to be handed a remote control with our keys though)

We didn't eat in the bar on this occasion, so can't comment on the menu since the new ownership; however breakfast was lovely. They also served a fantastic local cider in the bar!

Public car park is just behind the hotel, is free from 6pm to 9am but £5.40 for over 4 hours outside these times. If you don't mind a short walk however, free on-street parking can be found just beyond the main town centre area.

All in all, a perfect, quirky stay in a suitably quirky town. :-)

Room Tip: If you want a quieter night's stay, go for the "modern" rooms at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vampyresheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews