We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$196
US$152
View deal
SAVE US$44
Hotels.comUS$169
PricelineUS$169
Trip.comUS$196
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
203
61
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
203
61
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park high street gin bar sunday roast narrow entrance traffic lights dunster castle staff attentive complimentary sherry eggs royale lamb super hotel smoked salmon spent one night public areas an upgrade two night stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2020 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of our holiday and the hotel did not disapoint.
We were warmly greeted by Lisa and John the owners who at all times during our stay worked tirelessly to ensure we had the best experience. The hotel is immaculate throughout and clearly a lot of time effort and money has been spent to make the property in such a beautiful condition.
Currently the restaurant is closed for dinner but the intimate excellent Hathaways is just round the corner and the exceptional Reeves is opposite. Both worth a visit.
The breakfast service was top rate and John's eggs Royal are definitely recommended.
We would love to return, just sorry that Dunster is not nearer to Manchester.
Thank you John and Lisa we really enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MancsJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2020

We based here for 2 nights (4/5th March) while we explored the surrounding area. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room, the old Stable, was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. The meals we had were of a high standard and substantial. We did try to put a dent in their gin collection, but the sheer variety and numbers defeated us. We highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robjac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020

Just got home from a mini one night break away and so pleased we booked here. Stayed in Dovecote room which is separate from the main hotel but the room was very well presented and comfortable. Also ate there in the evening and the food was delicious. Service was just right, enough time between courses to not feel rushed but not slow enough to make you keep checking your watch wondering where your food is! The owners were welcoming and friendly and really made us feel like valued guests. Excellent position in the village and lovely walks nearby as well as the castle and the parking was a bonus. All in all, a perfect break!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lavender1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

My wife and I stayed here for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The only thing that was a little disappointing was the shower. There was not a lot of water flow through it. It was not that easy to get wet!
We eat in the restaurant in the evening and were the only diners. My wife really enjoyed the lamb dish she had. I didn't like the Idea of the only vegetarian dish on the menu but the chef came up with a different suggestion which was very nice. It lacked a little atmosphere but this was due to us being on our own. Breakfast the next morning was very good. Freshly cooked to order and plenty of it.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeemerBikerAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

We decided to have a weekend away in Dunster as I’d been there lots of times as a child and so my hubby booked us into the Dunster Castle Hotel. We stayed in the room called Dovecote, it was very cosy and welcoming, the bed was comfortable and the whole room had a charm about it and was nice and clean. After an afternoon looking around the Castle and a trip to Minehead to buy fish and chips which we ate at Dunster Beach we headed in to the hotel’s bar. They have a choice of 100 Gins... and guide you through making the right choice. The owners make you feel like you’re a regular there, the whole atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. The full Exmoor breakfast is one of the tastiest breakfasts we’ve had in a long time.. absolutely delicious. If you’re after a relaxed and friendly hotel with a great atmosphere and excellent food then this is the place for you!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank susiew971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews