We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant staff, atmosphere and grub!”

Boston Tea Party Alfred Street
Ranked #16 of 54 Coffee & Tea in Bath
Price range: US$0 - US$13
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The atmosphere was amazing (great place to come and do work!) with very friendly staff who see to all your needs. Got lots of work done with a plentiful supply of drinks and lunch!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TellBTP, Manager at Boston Tea Party Alfred Street, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Tom! Thanks for leaving us your review, we're so happy that you love our space as much as we do! BTP Alfred Street Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

I was very impressed with this cafe which is in one of the beautiful, old buildings of Bath. Having quite specific dietary requirements, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, making sure I got a suitable meal. The food was delicious with generous helpings. The whole place was clean and comfortable. I would definitely go again when I am next in Bath.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 108GM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TellBTP, Manager at Boston Tea Party Alfred Street, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hey! Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review, we absolutely love our café and are so happy you do too! BTP Alfred Street team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Stumbling on this most unique and unassuming looking restaurant, at least from the outside i thought on further observe it was worth a try and am so glad i did. Not easily tempted unless i sense quality the GF brownie looks the real deal and i have to try in spite of having eaten! Just divine and loaded with decent chocolate i can't recommend highly enough and am just sorry that i can't partake on a regular basis!. Cakes are well displayed and portions are generous, what more can i say. If their menu is anything like the brownie, i strongly recommend a visit. They do a healthy version of breakfast and homemade soups to name a few.
The restaurant is so well laid out with nook tables, open tables and a very special long table for mingling diners up the middle all which work a treat. Staff were so polite and couldn't have been helped and actually interested in their ethical principles, all of which are clearly documented on a tasteful board. Don't miss this one.

BTP, please come to Dublin, we need you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank foodmatters3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TellBTP, Manager at Boston Tea Party Alfred Street, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hey! Thanks for your fab review, we're so glad that you love our absolutely delicious chocolate brownie ! Hopefully next time you're back in Bath you can have something off the menu too! All homemade goodness! BTP Alfred Street Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is beautiful, spacious and light, with interesting, funky decor. The staff are friendly and efficient. We arrived in the middle of the lunch rush but we were served quickly and the food was excellent. Lots of choices for people with dietary preferences. I loved the sweet corn hash! The soup was delicious too. My favourite thing about the food at BTP, is that everything tastes fresh and 'homemade'. It's practically impossible to not have a piece of cake.. so good..but some are almost too pretty to eat, almost! Top marks for a lovely lunch and smiley staff, even at the busiest time of the day.

Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TellBTP, Manager at Boston Tea Party Alfred Street, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Susan! Thank you for your lovely review! We're so glad that you had such a great time with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon! BTP Alfred Street Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

I have visited the Tea Party on 3 separate occasions. I keep coming back as the food and coffee is great quality and reasonably priced. The cafe in this particular location is huge, in comparison with Kingsmead in the Centre of Bath, however, Alfred Street is always busy. The menu provides an all day breakfast but this is not a greasy fry up. As seen in many restaurants these days, they offer meals with high protein, reduced carb options such as a Chorizo Hash, my personal favourite and a must for a health conscious person such as myself. The coffee and drinks menu is also extensive. I recommend the Mocha and House Espresso with its strong, dark cherry flavours mixed with Chocolate....lovely!

The restaurant caters for families and is pet friendly. Although, dog owners would find this a plus point. I am personally put off by animals being permitted to sit in a restaurant. I also find the queuing time too long. Perhaps another till would be a good idea? Attempting to find a table mid-morning is a nightmare. Maybe a seat allocating system would be useful on busy days.

Understandably, this is a cafe, so do not expect the same efficiencies as a restaurant. I do love this cafe and would recommend to anyone looking for a lovely brunch and a great cup of coffee/tea!

Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TellBTP, Manager at Boston Tea Party Alfred Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

hello Jo! Thank you for taking the time to write us this review, we're so glad that you love it here as much as we do! BTP Alfred Street Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boston Tea Party Alfred Street also viewed

 

Been to Boston Tea Party Alfred Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing